TedW

ARC-170 Configuration slot?

Hello everyone,

As the title implies, I've been thinking recently of one of my favorite ships in the SW universe, the ARC-170 Starfighter. As much as I love it for its visual design, I just can't seem to make them work in my Republic squads (the only one I field from time to time is Norra Wexley with Zeb and Intimidation, but she's a Rebel).

So first - I'm no pro player and I don't know how Republic ARCs are seen these days, so I'm wondering if you can share your insight on them - are they worth fielding? If so, how do you build your squads with them in mind and in what combinations?

Secondly, let me ask a purely theoretical question - since B-Wings got an optional configuration for extra points and ARCs canonically had retractable S-Foils as well, do you think they could use getting a config like that too? If yes, what would you see the configuration do in order to make ARCs playstyle more pronounced?

Thanks in advance to anyone sharing their thoughts on that! :)

I do like the look of the ARC-170, but I never understood the purpose of the s-foils.  It always felt, just because.   So I’m not sure on how a configuration card would make sense from canon point of view.  

Maybe.... S-foils closed allows a reduction in straight maneuvers difficulty, maybe add chain of something?

Posted (edited)
56 minutes ago, TedW said:

So first - I'm no pro player and I don't know how Republic ARCs are seen these days, so I'm wondering if you can share your insight on them - are they worth fielding? If so, how do you build your squads with them in mind and in what combinations?

They're pretty solid.

Sinker, of course, does his thing of leading a swarm of Torrents, but that's not quite the same vibe as just loving and wanting to fly ARCs.