Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
flatpackhamster

Rift Ambush objective questions

Recommended Posts

I have some questions about the gravity rift obstacle and how it operates with Rift Ambush.

 

- When a ship at distance 1-2 starts its turn (determine course step) it acts as though it's going 1 speed slower, so speed 3 ships go speed 2 and use their speed 2 nav chart.  Is that right?

- With Rift Ambush though they do the bit above (losing speed), and the rift then shoves them on another speed 1 but straight?  And they can't alter that by using nav tokens?

 

- If they land ON the rift then at the end of their activation their speed drops to speed 0 and defence tokens stop working because it's REAL speed 0, not temporary? Is that right?

- So next turn they would need a Nav dial to start moving again, and if they didn't have a Nav dial they'd be stuck? 

- But if they DID have a Nav dial, they could get up to speed 1 and start moving, and then they'd get the Rift Ambush Bonus Speed 1 maneuver, but it's possible they might still be stuck on the rift and so end up dropping to speed 0 AGAIN?

 

Sorry, lots of questions.

 

PS - I'm playing rebels and I brought Ezra Bridger.  Can I move the rift? (teehee)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, flatpackhamster said:

- When a ship at distance 1-2 starts its turn (determine course step) it acts as though it's going 1 speed slower, so speed 3 ships go speed 2 and use their speed 2 nav chart.  Is that right?

Correct.

1 hour ago, flatpackhamster said:

- With Rift Ambush though they do the bit above (losing speed), and the rift then shoves them on another speed 1 but straight?  And they can't alter that by using nav tokens?

Correct again. Just a slight clarification. Only the first player must make that maneuver straight, the second player can use that ship's speed-1 yaw value.

1 hour ago, flatpackhamster said:

- If they land ON the rift then at the end of their activation their speed drops to speed 0 and defence tokens stop working because it's REAL speed 0, not temporary? Is that right?

Right, when that happens, the actual speed dial is set to speed 0, that is not just temporary.

1 hour ago, flatpackhamster said:

- So next turn they would need a Nav dial to start moving again, and if they didn't have a Nav dial they'd be stuck? 

- But if they DID have a Nav dial, they could get up to speed 1 and start moving, and then they'd get the Rift Ambush Bonus Speed 1 maneuver, but it's possible they might still be stuck on the rift and so end up dropping to speed 0 AGAIN?

They would need a nav dial + token, or anything that would let them change the speed at least by 2. If they can just change it by 1, then the effect of the rift will make the speed-1 be temporary reduced by 1, to 0 and the ship won't move again, ending up again on the rift and it's speed will be set again to 0.

1 hour ago, flatpackhamster said:

PS - I'm playing rebels and I brought Ezra Bridger.  Can I move the rift? (teehee)

The rift is an obstacle, so Ezra can move it. Have fun 😁

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Lemmi, you got them all correct. A cookie for you good sir! 🍪

Only one point of order, is that the Rift Ambush special rule maneuver is exempt from the reduced speed. So even if you are speed 0 on the rift, the special rule maneuver would force you to make a speed 1 maneuver.

Flatpack, feel free to ask questions. Its why this forum is here. :)

Edited by Karneck

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks everyone.  It seems that every time I post in here I'm just about to play a game and I have some evil and hilarious plan I am about to throw on to my long-suffering opponent.

 

This time it's a 500pt affair and I have a Madine fleet with 8 ships, including 3 Hammerheads and a pair of Nebulon Bs, and I have brought Jyn Erso, Captain Rex, Ezra Bridger and Cham Syndulla.

 

My dream is to Cham his Starhawk with 4 engineering commands once it's stuck on the rift...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/3/2020 at 11:53 AM, Bertie Wooster said:

And if you bring FCT you can potentially FCT twice in one turn! (Potentially three times on the first turn if you're first player, and your opponent chooses to move your FCT ship forward). 

I’m sure you don’t mean Fire Control Team, but I cannot for the life of me think of what else FCT stands for.

On 7/3/2020 at 8:58 AM, flatpackhamster said:

PS - I'm playing rebels and I brought Ezra Bridger.  Can I move the rift? (teehee)

First time I played Rift Ambush, my Interdictor had used all sorts of nasty tricks to set an “inescapable” trap, and my opponent spent two turns gingerly picking his way through obstacles and was about to get badly flanked by the Raider Corvette I had slingshotting around the Rift... and then Ezra threw the Rift out of his path and directly into the face of the Raider, and proceeded to beat the **** out of me. 

Ezra is mean when paired with a Rift.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, Cpt ObVus said:

I’m sure you don’t mean Fire Control Team, but I cannot for the life of me think of what else FCT stands for.

First time I played Rift Ambush, my Interdictor had used all sorts of nasty tricks to set an “inescapable” trap, and my opponent spent two turns gingerly picking his way through obstacles and was about to get badly flanked by the Raider Corvette I had slingshotting around the Rift... and then Ezra threw the Rift out of his path and directly into the face of the Raider, and proceeded to beat the **** out of me. 

Ezra is mean when paired with a Rift.

 

It was a pretty funny battle.  I managed to shove the rift under his Starhawk and drop it to speed 0 for 3 turns.  Madine on speed 3 Hammerheads was a revelation, because I was able to move all three of them from long range on a front arc to close range on a side arc with maneuver dials and tokens. 

I managed to get Cham on the Starhawk on turn 5, later than ideal.

Sadly I lost the game on turn 6.  I had both my Nebulon Bs and my Pelta at medium range of his Starhawk which was on 4 hull, and activated the Nebulon Bs first.  Between they rolled 7 red dice (with 2 rerolls), and missed with 6.  I put 3 damage in to the Starhawk, leaving it at 1 hull, they both rammed it but it had hardened bulkheads which meant my ships took damage, and were stuck, leaving them at close range of his surviving fighters and with 1 hull each.

The Pelta activated and murdered the Starhawk with a massive 7 damage overkill.

Then his last 2 YT-2400s activated, both attacked a Nebulon B, and both hit, killing both my frigates.  If 1 of the 2 frigates had survived I would have won the game (by a 7-point margin) but I lost it.  Buggered by the dice once again.

 

But yeah, the Rift was great.  I may bring Rift Ambush to the Konstantine Interdictor Party in future.

Edited by flatpackhamster

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 hours ago, Lemmiwinks86 said:

He means Fighter Coordination Team.

Yeah, I’ve been playing too much X-Wing. All the abbreviations are turning into alphabet soup.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...