Jump to content
Akasha666

Prepared Invocations and Wards

Recommended Posts

Hello everyone

I would like to ask for some clarifications regarding prepared invocations and wards (the green table I've attached).

1- In order to prepare an invocation, may a Shugenja use the channeling option, since it states that channeling can be used outside conflicts but only once?

2- May she also use a spiritual offering with the proper component while preparing the invocation? (in order to reroll 3 blank dice)

3- Will the Strife points of the pre-rolled result apply immediately at preparation time or when the invocation is activated?

4- In order to activate a prepared invocation, one must be a Shugenja (having the proper Theology and Ring scores) or any character can?

5- Which is the TN for the Composition check in order to place a ward? I think there are 2 checks that must be passed: the Theology one in order to cast the invocation and the Composition one to place the ward, but I can't find the TN for the last one.

Thank you very much

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
22 minutes ago, Akasha666 said:
 

 

These answers are only My Best Guesses. I make no claims to knowing. But here goes:

1. Yes, but only once (obviously).

2. I think so? I don't see why you couldn't use an offering like that.

3. I would say immediately, being frustration/intensity as you focus hard on writing the Ward. But if someone could tell me I'm wrong and why, that would be useful.

4. They are often used as traps. They are designed with activation conditions, which can be triggered by anyone. You can 'prepare' an invocation to shoot Fires From Within at the first living being to enter a room, for example. Please note though, that (as far as I understand), all decisions must be made when the Ward is written down.  And that you can only have a single prepared invocation at anyone time (unless member of a special school of Yogo shugenja).

5. I *think* there's only one roll, with composition substituting for theology and otherwise using the normal rules, including the normal TN. Not sure though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i would delay the 3. point to the time of activating the ward.
this way the 3 strife elemental effect occur not at the calm time of writing the ward but when the elemental power is unleashed.

this also gives you the opportunity of handing someone the ward a telling them that it is as fickle as it is powerful.
i would also have the strife be applied to whomever uses the ward if it is giving away to be used by a friend, and the caster if used as a trap.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
21 hours ago, Chilitoke said:

i would delay the 3. point to the time of activating the ward.
this way the 3 strife elemental effect occur not at the calm time of writing the ward but when the elemental power is unleashed.

this also gives you the opportunity of handing someone the ward a telling them that it is as fickle as it is powerful.
i would also have the strife be applied to whomever uses the ward if it is giving away to be used by a friend, and the caster if used as a trap.

I would say immediately. Receiving strife happens as part of performing a check, even if the check has no immediate effect.

Now, how spiritual backlash works with wards is a different question. I'm still in the 'applies immediately' camp - it's triggered by keeping strife on the check, not by the result of the action.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...