Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Raahk

Adding skill icons to a test

Recommended Posts

Hey,

a question in todays scenario came up. My friend was having Hemispheric Map (grants a static willpower bonus) and Timeworn Brand in play. He was using the ability on Timeworn Brand to add his investigators willpower to the test. He argued that the willpower from hemispheric map did not count because you aren't allowed to pitch willpower cards int othe test. Is that correct?

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Your friend is wrong. Hemispheric applies as long as its condition is met. Being only to commit cards with its respective test doesn't matter to it. Another thing to note is that if you have like say higher education, you can use it to buff your stat even if it is not the stat used in the test. Additional, you can even use it even if it doesn't have any effect other than maybe to spend the resource if you have dark horse for example.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can check it here: https://arkhamdb.com/rules#Skill_Test_Timing

On step ST.2 it says that "An appropriate skill icon is either one that matches the skill being tested, or a wild icon.", in this case, the test uses strength + willpower, so any card that can affect either of those can be commited.

Basically what the rules prevent is that you commit cards that don't affect the test at all just in case you wanted to get rid of them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Henryillusion said:

You can check it here: https://arkhamdb.com/rules#Skill_Test_Timing

On step ST.2 it says that "An appropriate skill icon is either one that matches the skill being tested, or a wild icon.", in this case, the test uses strength + willpower, so any card that can affect either of those can be commited.

Basically what the rules prevent is that you commit cards that don't affect the test at all just in case you wanted to get rid of them.

The Fight action on Timeworn Brand doesn't change the skill being tested (unlike, let's say, Shrivelling or the Circle tests in Union an Disillusion). It's still a strengt test. Therefore, you can only commit strenght and wild icons.

But that is irrelevant to the present case because Hemispheric Map isn't commited. It has a Constant Ability that adds to your willpower as long as it is in play and the requirements are met.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...