Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Bayushi Shunsuke

[Ruling] Spectral Visitation

Recommended Posts

I have a question regarding Spectral Visitation and it’s intended working. At the moment it would seem like the target character mentioned in its pre-dash text would prevent Spectral Visitation from activating on an empty dynasty discard pile. As there would be no legal targets, hence the ability can’t trigger and costs can’t be paid.

But the “Discard 4 cards” cost has a lot of people assuming that, Rules as Intended, it would always be sure to discard 4 cards first, so that you have a chance at a potential target even if the province would be revealed without any cards in the dynasty discard pile.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Bayushi Shunsuke said:

I have a question regarding Spectral Visitation and it’s intended working. At the moment it would seem like the target character mentioned in its pre-dash text would prevent Spectral Visitation from activating on an empty dynasty discard pile. As there would be no legal targets, hence the ability can’t trigger and costs can’t be paid.

But the “Discard 4 cards” cost has a lot of people assuming that, Rules as Intended, it would always be sure to discard 4 cards first, so that you have a chance at a potential target even if the province would be revealed without any cards in the dynasty discard pile.

Play the province as intended—you can trigger the ability even when there are no characters in your discard pile.

[Tyler Parrott, Apr 8 2020]

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...