Sign in to follow this  
M_mortal

From D&D to StarWars

So, to kick this off, I’m a complete beginner when it comes to the Star Wars tabletop. I’ve played D&D for years and learning something completely different is proving to be kind of confusing and difficult. I plan to be the GM for my friends and we have all the books, but I guess I’d like some help “dumbing it down” to where it’s easier to understand and get into. For example, I understand that this game doesn’t technically support multi classing, or so I understand from reading the books and other forums. But also, I’ve read that players can buy into other specialization that aren’t associated with their careers, which in my opinion is EXACTLY what multi classing is. To any who understand my dilemma, any assistance?

Let's say you want to play something like a Healer (Life-Cleric maybe) you can start with Career: Colonist, Spec: Doctor.

But as soon as the game runs long enough to max out in Talents you want from Doctor and the Skills that go with it, everything you can get as a new spec will be something strange from a D&D perspective. If you stay in Colonist there is no other "healing" spec, but if you go to specs from other careers you actually can get more "healing" improving stuff.

Just try your best to get "classes" out of your mind when switching systems, because there are massive amounts of systems out there that are almost impossible to translate in those regards.

Maybe just start off with any of the beginners boxes and the adventures in them (they include pre-made chars). Take a shot at the System an try to wrap your head around all the other differences one at a time.