Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
MRoxs

Clarification needed on some rules.

Recommended Posts

Hello everyone,

Happy to share that I am now a proud owner of the Warhammer Fantasy set. It's a lot to absorb though and after a few combat with friends we have remained a bit confused on a few things: namely the skill and specialisation bit.

If a character is trained in a skill his is allowed to use a expertise die, but what if the said character also invested a specialisation into that skill. Does he recieve a fortune for the roll or does the expertise die become a fortune one? There were still some issues with maneuvres but I am confident I can get the hang of that after a bit more reading.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just for clarification, the yellow die is an "expertise" die; you put that in the pool for being trained.  If the character's specialization comes into play on a check then he will also add a white (fortune) die to the check; in addition to the expertise die.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

RenoDM said:

Just for clarification, the yellow die is an "expertise" die; you put that in the pool for being trained.  If the character's specialization comes into play on a check then he will also add a white (fortune) die to the check; in addition to the expertise die.

Thank you. Edited the post accordingly.  It clears it up, I had the silly idea of having to replace the expertise die with a fortune one, but it all just keeps adding to the player's dicepool. 

A second issue was the Channeling Power action for Wizards. When a chaos star is rolled, it states that the wizard should lose all generated power with excess of 2 above his WP. Am I correct in assuming that when he hasn't gotten any power in his first turn yet, that the Chaos Star doesn't do anything other than keep him from generating power?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Chaos stars are treated as banes if there is no chaos star result listed (although I think it's perfectly valid that the GM makes up a result if that feels more adequate). They are normally not treated as failure symbols. Comets and chaos stars are a bit different.

As to channeling, are you talking about the conservative side of the card? At the conservative side you immediately (well, after the channel power card is resolved) lose all power in excess of your WP times 2, and suffer one stress per power lost in this way.

So lets say that you have WP 4 and is at equilibrium (i.e. has 4 power, you always start at equilibrium when an encounter begins). You make a channeling check (with, e.g., 3 blue dice, 1 green, 1 yellow, 1 white and 1 purple) and get the result:
3 successes, 2 boons, 1 blank and 1 chaos star.
Resolving the channel action you thus get 4+1=5 power. You now have 9 power in total and the chaos star effect triggers causing you to lose 1 power (down to 2*WP) and suffer one stress.

For the reckless side, it's a bit different. You now lose power at the end of your turn, so if you're quickcasting you have the chance of getting rid of power before it happens. On the other hand the treshold for power loss is now just WP. Dangerous stuff...

Using the same example as above. Still using no quick-casting, which means that the chaos star power drain will happen at the end of turn. The same dice result will now give a whopping 8 power and you end up at 12 power total. Since you're not quick-casting you will still have 12 power at end of turn. Now, theres a bit of a rule vagueness at this point. Either you have to vent power before the chaos star drain takes place or it's the other way around. But lets assume that venting happens first. The normal venting rules are: you have to spend one maneouvre and one stress to keep the power you have or lose everything down to equilibrium (suffering 1 fatigue per power lost and some additional wounds/stress). The second option (i.e. letting the power vent) will give you 8! fatigue and probably about 2 wounds+2stress, so option one is better. You get one stress and use a manouevre. You now have 12 power that is reduced to 4 due to the chaos star you rolled, you also suffer 8 stress (ouch).

Getting a chaos star on a reckless channeling check is really dangerous. Quickcasting is a good option to make sure the power can be spent, but that has its own dangers.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

gruntl said:

Using the same example as above. Still using no quick-casting, which means that the chaos star power drain will happen at the end of turn. The same dice result will now give a whopping 8 power and you end up at 12 power total. Since you're not quick-casting you will still have 12 power at end of turn. Now, theres a bit of a rule vagueness at this point. Either you have to vent power before the chaos star drain takes place or it's the other way around. But lets assume that venting happens first. The normal venting rules are: you have to spend one maneouvre and one stress to keep the power you have or lose everything down to equilibrium (suffering 1 fatigue per power lost and some additional wounds/stress). The second option (i.e. letting the power vent) will give you 8! fatigue and probably about 2 wounds+2stress, so option one is better. You get one stress and use a manouevre. You now have 12 power that is reduced to 4 due to the chaos star you rolled, you also suffer 8 stress (ouch).

I sent in a rules question email about the ordering of the chaos star resolution and the manage excess power phase. The reply was that the chaos star resolution happens first (in the end of turn phase). So the example above is slightly wrong. You would suffer 8 stress from the chaos star result, but then have no problem with managing power (since you would be at equilibrium after the chaos star resolution).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for your time to write down an example, it made things a bit more clear although I reckon that I'll have to mull over it a few more times before I fully grasp it. (I suppose I overrated my ability to understand English a 100%)  

A Wizard with a stat of 5 would recieve 2 stress if his channeled power would be at 10 and he rolled a Chaos Star? (Just checking if I understand the excess by 2 clearly)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

MRoxs said:

A Wizard with a stat of 5 would recieve 2 stress if his channeled power would be at 10 and he rolled a Chaos Star? (Just checking if I understand the excess by 2 clearly)

In conservative stance he will lose all power above 2 times his willpower. So if he has WP 5 and has 10 power, he will not lose any power at all and take no stress. There is no limit at WP+2 (unless there is some other talent/ability that can affect this), the card refers to WP*2.

In Reckless stance he would lose 5 power and get 5 stress (from 10 down to his WP) at the end of turn (before managing excess power).

Don't worry about the english, I'm not natively english speaking either, so my writing is probably less than clear at times.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...