Sign in to follow this  
Santan75

Quantity vs. Quality

I just started playing xwing at the local store. I have only played one game I used Lando in the Falcon with too many upgrade along with Jake and Arvel in A wings against Fo Tie swam and lost pretty easily. It seems to me having more ships is better than having good ships. I am still a novice and more than likely I was not using all my ship abilities to their maximum. I have invested in a few more ships and was thinking about running Sai in the shuttle with Jamming beam, perceptive co pilot, freelance slicer and st-321 along with "Mauler", "Scourge", Gideon and "Howlrunner" no upgrades on the Ties. It's a full 200 point list and I was going to use the shuttle to jam and pass out focus tokens. Looking for thoughts and suggestions.

Posted (edited)

Hi - sorry there's been no response to this - I think everyone's feeling the effects of the shutdown!

I'm a casual player, I've been playing for a few years but there are some more savvy people around who can give you better advice than me.  Here are some thoughts though, for what they're worth.

On 3/21/2020 at 2:09 PM, Santan75 said:

having more ships is better than having good ships

Not necessarily.  There are still competitive two-ship lists (admittedly you're likely to need to be a good player to get them to work).  A recent example of a successful two-ship list was Boba Fett and Koshka Frost.  There's a great thread on it here.

On 3/21/2020 at 2:09 PM, Santan75 said:

too many upgrade

On the whole keeping ships fairly lean in terms of upgrades seems to be the way to go.  But it's not really the number of upgrades.  It's more about making sure you're being as efficient as possible and getting good value out of everything you're doing.  Especially as a newer player, that's not easy to do.