Sign in to follow this  
Schu81

How to fly Imperial Aces

Hello to you, XWing Community!

I would love to ask you something about Imperial Aces.

I know there are several different lists, which qualify to go by that name, so let me show you the list, which I tried on the last tournament of my local community.

Soontir Fel (53)
Predator (2)
Shield Upgrade (8)

Darth Vader (67)
Fire-Control System (2)
Afterburners (6)

Grand Inquisitor (52)
Fire-Control System (2)

Total: 192

Why did I choose these ships?

Well, the Grand Inquisitor seems to be maneuverable and fast. Soontir is a legend and his ship looks fabulous. I love the Interceptor.  And Vader is Vader, what more can i say.

I found these incredibly difficult to fly, even though I am not a new player anymore. I have been playing XWing for several years.

I knew my iist would melt very quickly, if I go in for a joust, so I tried to keep the 3 ships apart and flank as often as possible.

Anyway, at some point my ships get shot at and somehow they do not withstand the attacks for long. Apart from that, I found that Soontirs attacks are not very strong, unless you achieve a perfect setup with an enemy in your bullseye.

So, what do I do wrong? How do you have to fly these? And how come that Imperial Aces seem to be really good at huge tournaments, even though they are rather easy to kill? Aren't other lists so much stronger than this? Or is it really just a matter of "how to fly"?

Explanations welcome :)

Edited by Schu81

Just my 2 cents, but how do you set up obstacles? Whenever i play aces (Republic and Imperial) I make sure to bring the biggest rocks available (personally don't like gas clouds) and to make a tight cluster in the middle of the board. The reason is, Aces win by isolating their targets and outmaneuvering them so that ultimately the opponent has poor shots (obstructed, long range, or even both) or no shots at all, while they have decent shots, even if not ideal.