Mistervimes

I need a better plot device/McGuffin at the start of new campaign

Background

I'm starting a new campaign. This is my first time with the FFG system. I've been gaming for 40 years and been playing with (mostly) the same group of seven players for the last ten. They're a solid group. They don't reject the premise and they take responsibility for keeping a team together -- but they deserve a better motivation than I'm coming up with. 

Campaign

The campaign is set 15 years after the battle of Yavin. It's a nice quiet spot to play around with on the fringe. I plan to make it fairly sandboxy.

• There will be three interwoven metaplots that involve three different Imperial Remnant factions. These metaplots will have time related triggers for events. These are loose bullet points that will change depending on what the players do (or don't do). Metaplots have major consequences.
  • There will be plot hooks for them to pick up or ignore. Plot hook interaction or rejection have consequences. 
  • There will be story prompts for them to engage or ignore. Story prompts have little or no consequences, but may result in rewards.

Team Structure

My style for Star Wars  is:

• Session Zero cooperative character building
  • Sub-teams within the larger group (like Ben and Luke, Han and Chewie, or C3P0 and R2D2). The players get together, decide who is teaming with whom, and build that backstory. Sub-teams will share obligation. That way I only have three obligations running instead of seven. 
  • Session 0.5a-0.5c are three sessions about two hours long where I run the individual teams right up to the point where everyone meets. In session one I start in medias res at the point where everyone left off in their 0.5 session. That way everyone has context of what happened to them, but not the others. It always scores well with the players. 

My problem