Jump to content
buckero0

Marksman

Recommended Posts

Is this rule (comes with Iden Versio and Cassian) just as it sounds? "While attacking, you may spend aim tokens to improve attack die results"

I spend 1 aim token to turn a blank into a crit?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
12 minutes ago, SailorMeni said:

The complete rule is not known yet. I guess we'll see a RRG update in the near future. My money is on: spend one aim to turn one blank to a hit or one hit to a crit. 

That is actually False, Alex Davy has told us what the rule is. Marksman: While attacking, you may spend aim tokens to improve attack die results This means spend aim to turn a blank to a hit or a hit to a crit. Kinda obscure, but it was on a livestream for a tournament recently. Hopefully it will be explained in an rrg post soon!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, Mokoshkana said:

Does the rule actually specify "Hit or Critical"? What reason would there be to ever take a hit over a crit?

Because you can't go from a miss to a critical.  You can upgrade a miss to a hit or a hit to a crit, but not a miss all the way up to a critical.  What I don't know is will it let you upgrade a miss to a hit using one aim and upgrade that same hit up to a critical using another aim.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
16 minutes ago, Chili-52 said:

Because you can't go from a miss to a critical.  You can upgrade a miss to a hit or a hit to a crit, but not a miss all the way up to a critical.  What I don't know is will it let you upgrade a miss to a hit using one aim and upgrade that same hit up to a critical using another aim.

Ahh I misread the part about going from A to B or B to C. Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
22 hours ago, Chili-52 said:

Because you can't go from a miss to a critical.  You can upgrade a miss to a hit or a hit to a crit, but not a miss all the way up to a critical.  What I don't know is will it let you upgrade a miss to a hit using one aim and upgrade that same hit up to a critical using another aim.

Assuming that it is allowed to trigger multiple times, which it looks like it can, then yes because you are allowed to modify the same result more than once. An easy example is rerolling the same dice twice or rerolling a die and then using a unit's surge chart to convert the surge. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes you should be able to since you spend aim tokens singly, so you can either spend the aim one at a time to raise , for example a miss to a hit, then spend the next aim to raise the next aim to a hit. So instead of rerolling two dice and then rolling again 1-2 dice you can raise two rolls once each or 1 roll twice

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Am I missing something? It's all laid out in the updated Rules:

Quote

While performing an attack, a unit with the marksman keyword can spend aim tokens to improve attack die results instead of rerolling dice. After the Convert Attack Surges step and before the Apply Dodge and Cover step, the unit may spend any number of aim tokens. For each aim token spent in this way, change a blank result to a hit result or a hit result to a critical result.

  • A unit may spend two aim tokens to change a blank result to a critical result.
  • Aim tokens spent in this way have no other effect.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, Mad Maximus said:

Am I missing something? It's all laid out in the updated Rules:

 

Look at the dates on this thread. It was posted long before the RRG went live.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...