Jump to content

Recommended Posts

The way I read Ignition attack, it appears that you must make the attack against a possibly friendly ship if no enemies are in your arc.  Is that correct?

Also, it looks like Orbital Bombardment Particle Cannons affect your ships and fighters near the target, right?  

If so, then I guess you have to be careful with that big gun...  😜

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
22 minutes ago, sarumanthewhite said:

 

The way I read Ignition attack, it appears that you must make the attack against a possibly friendly ship if no enemies are in your arc.  Is that correct?

 

Per the RRG, you cannot directly attack a friendly ship or squadron. If there are no enemies in arc, you have no shot. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I messed that up the first time I played it.  I thought you could fire out your front arc and not have to use your super weapon if you had something in your super weapon arc.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
35 minutes ago, Sobonis01 said:

I messed that up the first time I played it.  I thought you could fire out your front arc and not have to use your super weapon if you had something in your super weapon arc.

Taking the ignition shot is mandatory (if there is a viable target).

Triggering the superweapon effect (Orbital Bombardment or Superheavy Composites) isn't a must. It's a crit effect, so you could choose to just do the standard crit effect instead. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 2/4/2020 at 8:20 PM, jp82729 said:

Taking the ignition shot is mandatory (if there is a viable target).

Triggering the superweapon effect (Orbital Bombardment or Superheavy Composites) isn't a must. It's a crit effect, so you could choose to just do the standard crit effect instead. 

I'm not doubting you but where in the rules does it say you can take the standard crit instead? I'm sure it's there but I just can't find it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Bolshevik6 It’s in the rules reference under Critical Effects. Every ship gets the standard critical effect:

The standard critical effect is: “crit icon: If the defender is dealt at least one damage card by this attack, deal the first damage card faceup.”

Edited by jp82729

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Bolshevik6 said:

I'm not doubting you but where in the rules does it say you can take the standard crit instead? I'm sure it's there but I just can't find it.

The Standard Critical Effect (first damage card face up) is always an option. You may always choose to resolve it instead of a special critical. You may also always choose to not resolve any critical effect at all.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not trying to be argumentative for the sake of being argumentative but looking at the upgrade card for both ignition weapons their crit effect does not seem to be optional. 

I understand what the "standard critical effect" is but the way the rules are written that seems to be the default effect if no other weapon ugrade card ability overrides it.

The guide explains what the standard crit is but I'm not seeing it saying anywhere that you can use this if you don't fancy using the the upgrades card's critical effect.

I actually think you're probably right and it's what is meant but nevertheless that does not appear to be what the rules say.

The internet is a funny thing; it lacks speech tone and intonation and so people can sometimes appear to be looking for an argument when they're not. That's the case here so I respectfully ask you again where does it say that using a weapon's critical effect is optional and you can choose not to use it and use the standard crit instead? Because all I am seeing in the rules is an explanation of what a standard crit is when you don't have a weapons upgrade and how a weapons upgrade crit works. I'm not seeing any reference to being able to choose at all.

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also want to reiterate that as far as I know (someone please correct me if I’m wrong), resolving ANY critical effect is optional (even the standard crit), so you aren’t required to give the opponent a face-up card. I don’t have a rule book handy to back that up, however. I also cannot think of why you wouldn’t at least use the standard crit, but I’m sure there’s a reason you wouldn’t want to somewhere in the game.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, Cpt ObVus said:

I also want to reiterate that as far as I know (someone please correct me if I’m wrong), resolving ANY critical effect is optional (even the standard crit), so you aren’t required to give the opponent a face-up card. I don’t have a rule book handy to back that up, however. I also cannot think of why you wouldn’t at least use the standard crit, but I’m sure there’s a reason you wouldn’t want to somewhere in the game.

I don’t have the rulebook handy with me either, but As far as rules go, it must be able to have a declaration of none.

 

Bevause the contain token sets up a situation where you cannot declare your only option. If you could not declare none, simple use of the contain token when there is no other option would break the game 🙂

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, Drasnighta said:

I don’t have the rulebook handy with me either, but As far as rules go, it must be able to have a declaration of none.

 

Bevause the contain token sets up a situation where you cannot declare your only option. If you could not declare none, simple use of the contain token when there is no other option would break the game 🙂

So if I’m reading you right, I’m correct, yes? 

Haven’t had my coffee yet today, so I think I’m parsing this correctly, but want to be sure. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, Cpt ObVus said:

So if I’m reading you right, I’m correct, yes? 

Haven’t had my coffee yet today, so I think I’m parsing this correctly, but want to be sure. :)

Yes.

must be an option to not declare a critical.

 

Would just be silly to do so without cause.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Cpt ObVus said:

I also want to reiterate that as far as I know (someone please correct me if I’m wrong), resolving ANY critical effect is optional (even the standard crit), so you aren’t required to give the opponent a face-up card. I don’t have a rule book handy to back that up, however. I also cannot think of why you wouldn’t at least use the standard crit, but I’m sure there’s a reason you wouldn’t want to somewhere in the game.

Farming tokens with superior positions, and you want to avoid getting a structural on a 2-hull ship in order to grab one more token? It's an edge case for sure...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I played a game once where my opponent destroyed my Vic, and a Structural killed it. He was hoping not to get a Structural though, because if he killed it with a ram instead I wouldn't have a shot on him with my other ships. 

Although in that case it was APT he used. It was a rare case where he should have chosen not to use APT. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Medial Team is another situation where you might not want the crit. If you have just enough damage to kill it, and they have Medical Team, there's nothing to be gained from the crit, and you have a ~1 in 3 chance of not killing them.

For the wording on crits being optional, under the Attack steps, page 2:

Quote

5. Resolve Damage: The attacker can resolve one of its critical effects.

And then under critical effects, page 4:

Quote

A critical effect, denoted by the “[crit]” header, can resolve if there is at least one [crit] icon in the attack pool.

So they are "can"s, not "must"s.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 minutes ago, Grumbleduke said:

Medial Team is another situation where you might not want the crit. If you have just enough damage to kill it, and they have Medical Team, there's nothing to be gained from the crit, and you have a ~1 in 3 chance of not killing them.

3owob7.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, Grumbleduke said:

Medial Team is another situation where you might not want the crit. If you have just enough damage to kill it, and they have Medical Team, there's nothing to be gained from the crit, and you have a ~1 in 3 chance of not killing them.

Nice job. I knew it made sense in some rare-but-plausible scenario!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So if you placed an ignition token and you have 2 ships in your front arc, a Riekeen zombie ship in your special arc, and another ship in your front arc and don't have Gunnery Teams, you must shoot at the zombie ship in your special arc, even though it's already dead?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 minutes ago, Liggur90 said:

So if you placed an ignition token and you have 2 ships in your front arc, a Riekeen zombie ship in your special arc, and another ship in your front arc and don't have Gunnery Teams, you must shoot at the zombie ship in your special arc, even though it's already dead?

Yes. Because the zombie ship isn't treated as being destroyed yet. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...