Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
guest468638

Dampen Light and the Operations Phase

Recommended Posts

 Hello!

I have a question concerning Dampen Light (CS-F120).  The card reads:  Spell.  Action:  Until the end of the phase, raise the cost to play cards by 1. 

My question is pretty simple.  Do I have a chance to play this card at the beginning of my opponents Operations Phase to make all his cards cost 1 more for the turn?  I'm used to playing other games where effects like this are very good and can be played at any time but CoC has different timing rules.  Any clarification would be nice.  

Thanks in advance!

- SF

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Your opponent has the option of taking an action first, so probably plays a character or support. However, you can then play DL and could limit/shut down opponent's ability to play other characters/supports for that phase.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unfortunately, your opponent gets a chance to play something first, so cards like Dampen Light and Dreamlore Documents are really lessened in effectiveness.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dampen light is not so bad if you play it during your turn at the beginning of your story phase to avoid your opponent plays some event cards.

Dreamlore Documents, yes it's useless.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

JesseOlivier said:

its a shame really. Dampen light, the first time i read it seemed so full of potential. still decent though

It seems like one of those decent "situational" cards that are pretty good when things line up, but thats a rare occurrence.  I honestly look for cards that have multiple impacts when I build a deck.  I don't use "Dampen Light" very often, unless I throw it into a deck I'm using to teach people the game.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...