Sign in to follow this  
Vulcan64

Why Would an Adventuring Party Have Different Clan Members?

I am new to the L5R RPG. This topic is a two-part question:

1) Why would an adventuring party be comprised of characters from different clans?

2) Which L5R books contain ideas or reasons for an adventuring party to set forth in Rokugan?

There are three main types of adventuring parties in Rokugan.

Emerald Magistrates and their assistants. They are Imperial troubleshooters.

Clan Samurai with a few allies/friends/observers/guests from other Clans doing Samurai stuff.

Ronin who don't belong to a Clan just trying to survive.

Emerald Empire is the sourcebook with lore and adventure seeds.

You could also form a party of samurai on their musha shugyō (warrior's pilgrimage), which technically makes them rōnin but lets them travel and visit all of Rokugan as a way of learning and growing. I'd say that having them still have clan schools is fair play for such a group.

Or go all-in on "special snowflakes" (as opposed to a bit, which is true of all PCs) and have the Emperor force some/all clans to send a joint group for some reason.

Another way to do it would be extending the timeframe. The party meets at, say, a Winter Court, part of their clan's respective delegations. Then they meet again, months later, because their paths lead them all to the same town. Etc.

Hostages and relatives, too.

Yes, Isawa Kaede is technically Akodo Kaede since she married the lion clan champion, but if she needed a party of samurai to go poke something, it'd be quite feasible to find the odd relative from her old family in the group too.