Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Elrad

Several rules questions

Recommended Posts

18 minutes ago, Elrad said:

10) About this card :

If Black Panther is Stunned, does Retaliate triggers or not ? I think yes because it doesn't use the Atk value but just to be sure...

 

Thanks

Retaliate would trigger. Stunned only stops the next attack, not next time you would damage an enemy. Retaliate is not an attack.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

thanks for answering !

11) Can a Character on their Alter-Ego face be attacked by an enemy ? If yes, they're not able to defend against it ? They're just dealt direct damages ?

 

Thanks again !

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
47 minutes ago, Elrad said:

thanks for answering !

11) Can a Character on their Alter-Ego face be attacked by an enemy ? If yes, they're not able to defend against it ? They're just dealt direct damages ?

 

Thanks again !

No, alter egos don’t get attacked. That’s why the Assault standard encounter card has surge if you’re in that form.

15 minutes ago, Elrad said:

12) Regarding this card : 

is this Interrupt(defense) mandatory or not ? Can I choose to sustain the damages instead of discarding Cosmic Flight ?

I believe you would only have to if it said “forced.”

Rules Reference, p2:

”the resolution of the following ability types is mandatory: constant abilities, when revealed abilities, when defeated abilities, forced abilities, boost abilities, and keywords.”

So since Interrupts aren’t listed as mandatory I think you’re good to choose.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 11/18/2019 at 4:55 PM, Tonbo Karasu said:

which is not activated until the appropriate point in the villain phase, with all the other ones.)

...I totally missed that you said this, as well as missing it in the rules. That makes my life SO much easier (the amount of times I've drawn a side scheme that boosts the Step-One threat or gives me an extra encounter card...)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, SpiderMana said:

...I totally missed that you said this, as well as missing it in the rules. That makes my life SO much easier (the amount of times I've drawn a side scheme that boosts the Step-One threat or gives me an extra encounter card...)

Where in the rules is that written ? I don't see it neither...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, Elrad said:

Where in the rules is that written ? I don't see it neither...

The Villain Phase step 3 is to deal encounter cards, and you don’t reveal them until step 4.

Under “Empty Player Deck” in the rules reference, it merely says “that player immediately deals themself one card from the encounter deck.” and doesn’t say anything about revealing it.

 

I think this makes sense, too, as it keeps encounter cards revealed this way from impacting the villain phase until after you’ve had a turn to choose what to deal with.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'll have to re-read the whole 😄

13) Stupid question i should have understood but still :

When I defeat Rhino 1, I have to look for Breakin' and takin' side scheme, then reshuffle the encounters deck...does it mean that I have to reshuffle both the current deck and Discard pile into a new encounter draw pile ? 

Edited by Elrad

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, Elrad said:

I'll have to re-read the whole 😄

13) Stupid question i should have understood but still :

When I defeat Rhino 1, I have to look for Breakin' and takin' side scheme, then reshuffle the encounters draw pile...does it mean that I have to reshuffle both the current draw pile and Discard pile into a new encounter draw pile ? 

When effects reference the deck, that doesn’t include the discard pile. An effect has to say deck and discard pile if it wants to impact both.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 minutes ago, SpiderMana said:

The Villain Phase step 3 is to deal encounter cards, and you don’t reveal them until step 4.

Under “Empty Player Deck” in the rules reference, it merely says “that player immediately deals themself one card from the encounter deck.” and doesn’t say anything about revealing it.

 

I think this makes sense, too, as it keeps encounter cards revealed this way from impacting the villain phase until after you’ve had a turn to choose what to deal with.

Aaaah you mean if you just draw, during Villain step 3 a side scheme with +one encounter card that this additional card will only be drawn during the next Villain turn's step 3 and not during the actual step 4 when you reveal the encounter card. Ok I understand now...somehow I didn't do anything wrong but hadn't realized that drawing and revealing encounter cards were actually 2 separate steps....always good to know 😉

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 minutes ago, Elrad said:

Ah...thank you for the precision. So if Breakin' and Takin' is in the discard Pile, I don't have to reshuffle the deck...I would have done it if the Side Scheme had been in there, correct ?

Technically you have to shuffle the deck even if it was in the discard. It doesn’t matter right now, but it matters for things like the upcoming Falcon ally, who lets you look at the top 3 cards of the deck.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, Elrad said:

Aaaah you mean if you just draw, during Villain step 3 a side scheme with +one encounter card that this additional card will only be drawn during the next Villain turn's step 3 and not during the actual step 4 when you reveal the encounter card. Ok I understand now...somehow I didn't do anything wrong but hadn't realized that drawing and revealing encounter cards were actually 2 separate steps....always good to know 😉

Whenever an effect deals you an encounter card, it’s always face down in front of you. They are all revealed in step 4 of the Villain phase in the order they were dealt to you. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh thanks for both precisions.

It's true that if they say to reshuffle the deck, you're supposed to do it. What you add regarding Falcon confirms that we have to obey those instructions .

Regarding encounter cards, I agree, didn't know that if a Scheme card with the additional encounter card icon on it enter the game it deals directly 1 hidden encounter card (that will be revealed during the next villain step 3). Good to know (and to re-read carefully the rules :-P)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

14) I make a full question regarding what we have been discussing.

Then, for instance : 2players game : 

Round 3 - Villain turn - Step 3 --> deal one hidden encounter card per hero

Round 3 - Villain turn - Step 4 --> reveal each card in the order of players (starting with the first player) --> the first card revealed is a Side-Scheme with the additional encounter card on it. this card is immediately dealt hidden to the current round's first player. 

Round 4 - Villain turn - Step 3 --> deal one hidden encounter card per players

Round 4 - Villain turn - Step 4 --> the current round's first player reveal their encounter card and then the current round's second player reveal, one at a time both their encounter cards, the one received this turn and the additional card received during Round 3 - Step 4.

Is what I've said above correct ?

Thank you 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
40 minutes ago, Elrad said:

this card is immediately dealt hidden to the current round's first player. 

The “Hazard” symbol (the one that shows “+card”) doesn’t actually deal a card immediately, is the only issue there.

Round 3, phase 3: deal cards

Round 3, phase 4: reveal them. If a side scheme is revealed here with the Hazard Icon, the Hazard doesn’t do anything yet.

Round 4, phase 3: deal cards as usual, BUT if the side scheme is still in play, then you deal an extra card.

 

So you should always have a chance to thwart a side scheme before the Hazard comes into effect.

 

 

EDIT: another question I’ve got.

Ultron’s Assault on NORAD scheme states that you have to make a choice “after placing threat here during stage one of the villain phase.”

To me, it reads that if no threat is placed, you aren’t forced to make that decision. So Jen Walters is basically immune to that bit in solo play? Which is uh... really good 😜
 

I could rule of grim it the other way, but it’s less a “this reads ambiguously” and more a “this seems to be too in-my-favor” :P

Edited by SpiderMana

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, SpiderMana said:

The “Hazard” symbol (the one that shows “+card”) doesn’t actually deal a card immediately, is the only issue there.

Round 3, phase 3: deal cards

Round 3, phase 4: reveal them. If a side scheme is revealed here with the Hazard Icon, the Hazard doesn’t do anything yet.

Round 4, phase 3: deal cards as usual, BUT if the side scheme is still in play, then you deal an extra card.

 

So you should always have a chance to thwart a side scheme before the Hazard comes into effect.

 

 

EDIT: another question I’ve got.

Ultron’s Assault on NORAD scheme states that you have to make a choice “after placing threat here during stage one of the villain phase.”

To me, it reads that if no threat is placed, you aren’t forced to make that decision. So Jen Walters is basically immune to that bit in solo play? Which is uh... really good 😜
 

I could rule of grim it the other way, but it’s less a “this reads ambiguously” and more a “this seems to be too in-my-favor” :P

If you don’t place threat you didn’t place threat; kind of tautological. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 hours ago, SpiderMana said:

The “Hazard” symbol (the one that shows “+card”) doesn’t actually deal a card immediately, is the only issue there.

Round 3, phase 3: deal cards

Round 3, phase 4: reveal them. If a side scheme is revealed here with the Hazard Icon, the Hazard doesn’t do anything yet.

Round 4, phase 3: deal cards as usual, BUT if the side scheme is still in play, then you deal an extra card.

 

So you should always have a chance to thwart a side scheme before the Hazard comes into effect.

 

 

EDIT: another question I’ve got.

Ultron’s Assault on NORAD scheme states that you have to make a choice “after placing threat here during stage one of the villain phase.”

To me, it reads that if no threat is placed, you aren’t forced to make hat decision. So Jen Walters is basically immune to that bit in solo play? Which is uh... really good 😜
 

I could rule of grim it the other way, but it’s less a “this reads ambiguously” and more a “this seems to be too in-my-favor” :P

Ok I agree with you...After posting that sequence I was playing like you said. So we completely agree, the side schemes have a chance to be dealt with before their hazards provoke disasters :-°

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you have in play this:

01028.jpg.12648cb808a951ced8c782faf2b3e9fc.jpg

And you defend an enemy attack and play this:

01077.jpg.98227d28177b34be05a6d56b22843b12.jpg

What happens?You deal damage and discard superhuman strength or not?

Also when you have 2 or more cards with response in what order they trigger?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, SASUKE13 said:

You deal damage and discard superhuman strength

Because Counterpunch says “(attack)”, this is what happens, yes. You still get the extra damage and stub from Superhuman Strength, too.

 

As for order of operations, I believe cards with the same trigger may be played/triggered in the order of your choice? Can’t look it up at the moment to quote the RR for confirmation, sorry.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello again everyone, 

I'm a little late to wish you a Happy New Year, but let's do it : Happy New Year and wish you happiness and success in all domain for everyone of you !

Now, back to business 😉

I played for the first time against Ultron today and my friend and I had a couple of questions.

 

15) What about this card :

MC01en_140.jpg

If I've understood correctly, while this card has not shown up as an encounter card, all drone cards dealt from draw piles have no stats at all but only the keyword "minion".  Is that correct ? If so, is there a way to get rid of those drones before Ultron Drones enters play ? Because if we hit Ultron state II (playing normal), it becomes a **** to manage those little nuisances. 

16) Do we agree that when Ultron is stunned his attack doesn't happen and then the player attacked doesn't put a facedown card engaged with them as a drone ? 

17) A dummy question but I hesitate a little : when we switch from Alter-Ego to Hero and vice-versa, can we still perform actions in the newly adopted form or not (provided that we can perform those actions) ? 

Thanks for answering

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...