Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
DunderStorm

Wing leaders upgrades that changes maneuver dificulty

Recommended Posts

Say you have a squad of X-wings and the wing leader have an R4 astromech (Decrease the difficulty of your speed 1-2 basic maneuvers) while the wingmates have no or a different astromech.

If the wing leader would reveal a speed 2 hard turn (white on dial but turned blue for wingleader due to R4), would this count as a white or blue maneuver? 

The rules state:

  • Before it moves, a wingmate is treated as revealing the same dial as the wing leader’s dial.
  • After it is placed in formation, a wingmate is treated as having fully executed the maneuver on the wing leader’s dial. This includes the speed, color, and bearing of the wing leader’s maneuver.

 

My interpretation is that this means that the wing leaders maneuvers would be blue as well, but I am not 100% certain of that interpretation.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I assume you meant the wing mates maneuvers would be blue as well, not the wing leader. 
 

I don’t think that’s correct. There is a question In the official ruling thread about whether these upgrades affect the revealed dial. This excerpt seems pretty definitive. 
 

Note that abilities that alter a maneuver without causing the ship to select a new maneuver on its dial do not affect the ship's "revealed maneuver" as referenced by abilities such as Ric Olié's pilot ability.”

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm with @Gberezowsky here. I wished it was the other way, because that would make things like Ello Asty sweet. Unfortunately, wingmates care about what's on the Leader's dial, not about the wing Leader's executed maneuver. This is consistent with how things like Cova Nell work: her ability works with R4 Astro or Leia because it only cares about what the dial says, not about what color the maneuver was while she was executing it.

So, to answer your question, R4 on a Wing Leader is not like getting a free R4 on everyone. It would be one color for the leader, and a different color for the mates.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...