Jump to content

Recommended Posts

No, all characters commit to quest at the same time. 

In multiplayer, the next players can choose who to commit based on the newly obtained information (unless you strictly stick to the table talk rule,  of course....).

Essentially each player, in turn order, commits his characters to quest at the same time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
35 minutes ago, John Constantine said:

During the quest phase, can I exhausted Saruman to quest, play the freshly revealed far sight to scout 5 encounter cards, therefore readying Saruman, and then commit the reset of my characters to quest with newly obtained information? My gut and my fain recollection of the rules tells me I can't.

No, each player commits all his characters to the quest at the same time not one character at a time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, Halberto said:

No, all characters commit to quest at the same time. 

In multiplayer, the next players can choose who to commit based on the newly obtained information (unless you strictly stick to the table talk rule,  of course....).

Essentially each player, in turn order, commits his characters to quest at the same time.

Even sticking to the tabletalk rule you can find ways to convey the information. It's better just to have a good sense of teamwork than stick to this godawful rule. Thanks for the answer.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
20 minutes ago, John Constantine said:

Even sticking to the tabletalk rule you can find ways to convey the information. It's better just to have a good sense of teamwork than stick to this godawful rule. Thanks for the answer.

You are welcome.  And to be clear tabletalk rule is so silly in a cooperative game like our beloved lotr lcg to border nonsense. I'm sure that if the developer could travel back in time and erase 1 rule from the original rule sheet it would be this one...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
45 minutes ago, Halberto said:

No, all characters commit to quest at the same time. 

In multiplayer, the next players can choose who to commit based on the newly obtained information (unless you strictly stick to the table talk rule,  of course....).

Essentially each player, in turn order, commits his characters to quest at the same time.

Note that there is no longer an action window between each player committing characters to the quest, so even if player 1 has Saruman, there's no window for them to play Far-sighted after committing but also before player 2 committing.

[For reference, it's RR steps 3.2, action window, 3.3.]

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, mttrchrds said:

Nori's artwork. What the ****?

My eyes! Teh goggles do nothing!

I was thinking Keyforge, actually, but I can see a Marvel influence as well. Definitely looks out of place with most of the other cards in the game.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nori might be quite strong with dedicated deck discard, because there aren’t many more cards that recycle deck. So he’s more an enabler for weak but funny deck. And about commuting to the quest: from what I remember you trigger reactions before next player commits characters (makes Theodred weaker and the dwarf that looks at the top of encounter deck can help other players decide who to commit)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think recursion in card games is always potentially quite powerful (broken?), so I don't mind Nori's cost. Probably you'll need a shuffling effect to make full use of this style of recursion… Tactics Imrahil, perhaps?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The main problem that I see with him is that he seems to be overpriced by 1 to compensate for his ability, but his ability gives no immediate power, and plus it's pretty conditional, not to mentioning it being relevant for a single archetype. I can see many games being won/lost without the cards he shuffled even showing up, if any.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, John Constantine said:

The main problem that I see with him is that he seems to be overpriced by 1 to compensate for his ability, but his ability gives no immediate power, and plus it's pretty conditional, not to mentioning it being relevant for a single archetype. I can see many games being won/lost without the cards he shuffled even showing up, if any.

Well it's actually correctly priced for its statline (6 total for 3 cost)...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
34 minutes ago, Alonewolf87 said:

Well it's actually correctly priced for its statline (6 total for 3 cost)...

MEC48_4.jpg

bofur-ohauh.jpg

 

I dunno, total or no total, distribution also matters. Convert one of his willpower or defense into attack, and he would be worthwhile, both for attacking and for putting more work into making his ability come true. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah Nori is terrible unfortunately. His art looks like it belongs in a minecraft/cartoon type game, and compared to lotrs normal art it looks ridiculous. And his ability is just not good.

Anyway, I have a question about Saruman. If you trigger the steward of orthanc ally ability and give an event doomed 1 to draw a card, does that also ready Saruman? It would be a shame if it didn't but I am unsure.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
18 minutes ago, MikeGracey said:

Anyway, I have a question about Saruman. If you trigger the steward of orthanc ally ability and give an event doomed 1 to draw a card, does that also ready Saruman? It would be a shame if it didn't but I am unsure.

I'd say yes because his response doesn't say doomed has to be printed. As oppose to his second paragraph that wonldn't trigger because the doomed keyword has to be printed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, stimpaksam said:

I'd say yes because his response doesn't say doomed has to be printed. As oppose to his second paragraph that wonldn't trigger because the doomed keyword has to be printed.

In fact there isn't any reason Grima giving a card doomed or any of the allies that you can give them doomed when you play them from your hand wouldn't ready him either (though in the latter case it's rarer he will be exhausted in the planning phase unless you used word of Command or Peace and Thought). But I love the synergy in this case with Isenguard.

Edited by General_Grievous

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, General_Grievous said:

In fact there isn't any reason Grima giving a card doomed or any of the allies that you can give them doomed when you play them from your hand wouldn't ready him either (though in the latter case it's rarer he will be exhausted in the planning phase unless you used word of Command or Peace and Thought). But I love the synergy in this case with Isenguard.

I wonder about that-- does a card that says "give the ally doomed x" count as having the doomed keyword?

 

I wish the doomed reductions/boons wasn't restricted to events. It would be nice to use grima with reckless abandon on allies and attachments.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

question regarding the contract: why it is "you cannot chose more than one starting hero"? why doesn't it say "you start with one hero"?

...so, in other words:

a) why the "starting hero"? ... is there a way to get other hero cards into play? Is this a reference to Sword-Thain?

b) what about the quests where you have only one hero in play at the beginning, like that quest where you try to escape the prison???

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

yes It is a refercence to cards allowing you to increase your initial hero number and initial hero limit cap, like sword thain, desperate alliance,  saga heroes, etc... all those cards are still allowed 

 

More difficult to say what would happen in capture quest. For some there is a clear workaround,  at least in multiplayer,  but most probably this contract will not be playable in those, very few, quests.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...