Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Titshel

doubt BP and IM obligation

Recommended Posts

Hi, a doubt. Could you write the letters of obligation of Iron Man and Black Panther? 

Iam from Spain and we have a doubt. those of Spiderman, Captain and Hulka you can always do them.

But Tony's tells you that you exhaust your improvements and that of Panther you discard an improvement.

But if you can't do it, do you leave it at the table waiting? The letters of obligation says that they are delivered ...

The player must add it to his hand to fill it with hollow but without being able to dedicate it until he has fulfilled it? With the others always meets the requirement at the time.

Edited by Titshel

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In general you cannot choose an action that does not change the board state.

 

Black Panther:  If you cannot discard a Black Panther upgrade because you don’t have one, you cannot choose this. If Black Panther or T’challa is exhausted you also cannot choose the other option in which case nothing happens and the obligation is discarded.

Iron Man:  Same answer as above. If you cannot choose any of the actions because they do not change the board state, nothing happens and the obligation is discarded.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This could get quite technical, apologies if the English becomes too much.

The good thing is that I am 90% sure that no Obligation stays in play after the encounter phase.  The rest is based on the opinion that you can't choose an option which is impossible when there are non-impossible options available.

If you have no upgrades for Iron Man, then you could bow all of them (none) to cause it to be discarded.  

Black Panther is a bit more complex, and it might depend on whether you are T'Challa or Black Panther when it is drawn:

  • If you are in T'Challa mode when the card is drawn, the option to flip to Alter-Ego is irrelevant.  The card offers two options: Exhaust T'Challa to remove the Obligation from the game or discard a Black Panther upgrade to discard it.  You can't discard a Black Panther upgrade, but you can exhaust T'Challa, therefore you must exhaust T'Challa.
  • If you are in Black Panther mode when the card is drawn, you can first decide to flip to T'Challa mode.  If you do, see above.  If you decide to stay in Black Panther mode, the card offers two options: Exhaust T'Challa to remove the Obligation from the game or discard a Black Panther upgrade to discard it.  You can't discard a Black Panther upgrade, and you also can't exhaust T'Challa.  The card then does nothing, and is placed in the discard pile when it is resolved.

So, big hint, Don't flip to T'Challa if you have no Black Panther upgrades out, unless you want to remove the card from the game.

 

I hope that helps.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 11/6/2019 at 11:58 AM, Tonbo Karasu said:

If you have no upgrades for Iron Man, then you could bow all of them (none) to cause it to be discarded. 

This is not correct. The rules say in several places that an ability is not resolved if it doesn't change the state of the table. If you don't have at least one upgrade to exhaust, you can't choose that option. The same is true for your Black Panther example - if you have no upgrades out, but your identity card is currently ready, you must choose to flip and exhaust T'challa in order to resolve the card.

The whole point of the obligation cards is they must cause you to suffer a negative effect in the game if you are able to do so. The way that nungunz described it is correct.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...