Sign in to follow this  
gokubb

Kinda Blah

Anyone else feel the core set experience is bland? I’m a co-op LCG veteran and was looking forward to this. Unlike LotR and AH, there is a really poor deckbuilding experience. During play throughs, I noticed at least half the core is junk that should never see play once the card pool grows. Those double resource cards aren’t very good. Nick Fury is way too expensive. Situational cards don’t seem very good.

Also, the difficulty seemed to be really low. I played Spidey Justice against Rhino and won easily. Black Panther Leadership against Klaw and won easily. Iron Man Aggression against Ultron and won easily. I remember Arkham taking a good group and some luck to get through the third scenario. And, in LotR, the Dol Gulder one was super tough, making you rethink deckbuilding to tackle it. 

Hopefully as the card pool grows I’ll get more enjoyment from this. Right now it just seems like a less interesting dumbed down hybrid of the other coop games.

1 hour ago, gokubb said:

Anyone else feel the core set experience is bland? I’m a co-op LCG veteran and was looking forward to this. Unlike LotR and AH, there is a really poor deckbuilding experience. During play throughs, I noticed at least half the core is junk that should never see play once the card pool grows. Those double resource cards aren’t very good. Nick Fury is way too expensive. Situational cards don’t seem very good.

Also, the difficulty seemed to be really low. I played Spidey Justice against Rhino and won easily. Black Panther Leadership against Klaw and won easily. Iron Man Aggression against Ultron and won easily. I remember Arkham taking a good group and some luck to get through the third scenario. And, in LotR, the Dol Gulder one was super tough, making you rethink deckbuilding to tackle it. 

Hopefully as the card pool grows I’ll get more enjoyment from this. Right now it just seems like a less interesting dumbed down hybrid of the other coop games.