Dalli

BoFrost - About the evolution of double Firespray

The Firespray was always one of my favorite ships. When 2.0 was released I sold parts of my collection, from the Scum faction I kept two Firesprays. It was somehow always some kind of love affair, it’s an amazing iconic ship after all.  

I flew the Imperial Firesprays for the past five years, also at tournaments even though the Scum pilots were always a bit better. So I can say that I have some experience with the ship.

A couple of weeks ago a started to look into the ship class and possible squads by watching streams and checking other Firespray lists online. The next series of Hyperspace Trials was coming up and I wanted to lead the ship to success on this very specific tournament level. The result was my second Hyperspace squad for the second half of the Hyperspace series 2019: “BoFrost”.

Bevor I get into the details I want to share my thoughts on the ship selection, the Firespray in 2.0 in general as well as on the pilot Emon Azzameen.

Introduction

There are a lot of double-Firespray squads out there. Boba is a favorite, even though he got a bit expensive. You will encounter Emon the bomber just as often. I have a bone to pick with the latter, but more on that later (see below). I for my part went with Boba Fett and Koshka Frost.

So, why is Boba and Koshka in my opinion superior to Emon, Trellix or Kath?

Boba and Koshka are the only pilots that are able to re-roll defensive dice: Boba as soon as there is an enemy ship at range 1 and Koshka when she defends herself against a stressed ship. Also: their abilities trigger when attacking. This means that both pilots are able to produce results reliably, especially when you have a focus. The other three pilots are not that efficient. However, this doesn’t mean that their abilities are not interesting for a double-Firespray squad (with the exception of the generic pilot).

Krassis and Kath have great offensive abilities, but their use is rather limited.