Force Majeure

X-Wing - More than a Game?

I've been thinking recently about how X-wing and its community has affected me since I started playing. It has challenged me and rewarded me mentally, socially and creatively. From trying to solve the puzzle that every game can be, to designing my own templates, tokens, mats, etc. and giving me a social network that prior to the game was limited to whoever my wife was friends with. At the heart of it for me---beyond the game---the experience we share is about making positive connections that help elevate and make life a bit better through playing with plastic toy spaceships.

So I guess my question is this: How has X-wing benefited you in a meaningful way?

Did you get a better job through the connections you've made? Did you end up finding a matching organ donor? Did you end up buying the car of your dreams from a fellow player? What is your story?

Growing up and during my entire 20's I was a PC gamer only type to guy. I used to call board games "bored" games. Then a few years ago while on a quest to get out of the house more and meet friends my wife suggested a Star Wars related hobby. I found the X-wing display at Barnes and Noble one day and jumped in head first. I found the nearest LGS near me and luckily they had a strong X-wing community. Ive met many great people since I started and my LGS has also grown and recently moved into a much larger and nicer location that's only a few min more away.

To me X-wing is more than just a game. Its friends and social interactions that I would not normally have been exposed too.

X-Wing has motivated me to get off my computer, out of the basement and into the big world!... which means through an underground metro system and into the basement of a gaming ship to play X-Wing.  Wait... not sure that's much of an improvement 😲

Just kidding though, met lots of great people and I have been at it for years now.  Really the only thing that complains is my wallet.