Sign in to follow this  
P-47 Thunderbolt

Sentient Starfighters

Now, being a sentient WWII fighter plane, I have some experience with this in real life, but I was wondering, has anyone has tried playing as a sentient starfighter?

I'm not really a fan of starfighter combat in this system, but I was thinking about how it would be done:

Backstory: Eccentric engineer fitted an advanced auto-pilot system to a starfighter, and it gained sentience.
Character generation: Drop Brawn, use basic stats for droids, but instead of the Enduring talent, you get one rank of the High-G Training talent.

Other than that, you just build it like a regular character, except it's a sentient starfighter.

I suppose you could... though the campaign would have to be carefully developed to account for it. I mean, Knight Rider is a thing...

I vaguely recall someone wanting to play a "Transformer" several years ago and the discussion about how to manage that. One big obvious is that of scale. You're dealing with vehicle scale everything, so things get weird. If you were to do a Transformers total conversion Genesys style it's no biggy as all the typical opposition will be scaled equal to you. But sending Starscream up against a squad of Imperial Stormtroopers isn't gonna last long.

1 hour ago, Ghostofman said:

I vaguely recall someone wanting to play a "Transformer" several years ago and the discussion about how to manage that. One big obvious is that of scale. You're dealing with vehicle scale everything, so things get weird. If you were to do a Transformers total conversion Genesys style it's no biggy as all the typical opposition will be scaled equal to you. But sending Starscream up against a squad of Imperial Stormtroopers isn't gonna last long.