Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
DwainDibbly

Force powers and command bormbardment cards

Recommended Posts

Few items cropped up in a game today and whilst we _think_ we played it correctly, clarification would be good :)

  1. Palpatine/Vader/Luke Force Powers
    1. When using their force powers such as force push, do they need LOS? Or is it _only_ if the power/command card states they can do an attack that LOS is needed?
  2. Palpatine's give in to your anger
    1. Is this unlimited range?
    2. Does this work without LOS like other force powers?
    3. On round 1 this seems a strong way to get 4 suppression on a unit and likely result in panic and a lost squad. As it happened "change of plans" was played so this card didn't get played until later in the game by which point all units were in range of enemies and could do an attack thus avoiding 4 suppression. But it feels like quite a powerful round 1 card.
  3. Veers and Leia's max firepower/coordinated bombardment
    1. These both mention attack, so I assume LOS to each target is required.
    2. Range is 4-infinite so anything beyond range 3 is fair game?
    3. Is cover applied when making these attacks? If so, is cover calculated from veers/leia as with normal attack?
    4. Leia has peirce under her ranged weapon, does pierce only apply to that specific weapon or does it also apply to this bombardment attack?
    5. Do other keywords of veers/leia apply i.e sharpshooter 2?

 

Edited by DwainDibbly

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Veers and Leia's max firepower/coordinated bombardment

  1. These both mention attack, so I assume LOS to each target is required.  YES LOS is required
  2. Range is 4-infinite so anything beyond range 3 is fair game? Yes
  3. Is cover applied when making these attacks? If so, is cover calculated from veers/leia as with normal attack? Yes, and sharpshooter does apply
  4. Leia has peirce under her ranged weapon, does pierce only apply to that specific weapon or does it also apply to this bombardment attack? Only to the specific weapon
  5. Do other keywords of veers/leia apply i.e sharpshooter 2? Yes non-weapons specific keywords apply so sharpshooter does apply

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
21 minutes ago, DwainDibbly said:
  • Palpatine/Vader/Luke Force Powers
    1. When using their force powers such as force push, do they need LOS? Or is it _only_ if the power/command card states they can do an attack that LOS is needed?
  • Palpatine's give in to your anger
    1. Is this unlimited range?
    2. Does this work without LOS like other force powers?
    3. On round 1 this seems a strong way to get 4 suppression on a unit and likely result in panic and a lost squad. As it happened "change of plans" was played so this card didn't get played until later in the game by which point all units were in range of enemies and could do an attack thus avoiding 4 suppression. But it feels like quite a powerful round 1 card.
  1. Force Powers
    1. Nope! Generally, an effect only needs LOS if it specifically calls for it.
  2. GITYA
    1. Yup!
    2. Yup!
    3. It shouldn't cause a panic if used on turn 1. You receive the suppression long after the rally step so definitely no panic there. Turn 2 you start with 3 suppression (unless you were able to inspire anything off), so as long as you're in range of a commander you won't panic. You generally want to avoid putting a 1-courage unit outside of your courage bubble(s) during deployment against Palpatine.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, nashjaee said:

It shouldn't cause a panic if used on turn 1. You receive the suppression long after the rally step so definitely no panic there. Turn 2 you start with 3 suppression (unless you were able to inspire anything off), so as long as you're in range of a commander you won't panic. You generally want to avoid putting a 1-courage unit outside of your courage bubble(s) during deployment against Palpatine.

Isn't the rally step done at the time you activate your unit? If so, Palpatine's card, which goes before everyone else, may have placed 4 suppression on your unit. With the exception of luke that's enough to double most commanders courage causing a unit (or commander) to panic if they roll 4 blanks during their rally step. With some deployments, a single full speed move could put them off the table.

One further question that occurred to me which didn't come up, but I could see occurring in a future game. With veers/leia's bombardment command card that you use after they've activated. If you spent one of your actions on an aim token, can you spend that to re-roll dice during the bombardment?

Edited by DwainDibbly

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, DwainDibbly said:

Isn't the rally step done at the time you activate your unit? If so, Palpatine's card, which goes before everyone else, may have placed 4 suppression on your unit. With the exception of luke that's enough to double most commanders courage causing a unit (or commander) to panic if they roll 4 blanks during their rally step. With some deployments, a single full speed move could put them off the table.

The command card is played before the units activate, but that unit doesn't gain the 4 suppression tokens until its activation ends (if it didn't attack), which is past its rally step.

On a side note, in my opinion the strongest part of "Give in to your anger" isn't the 4 suppression part but the fact that you can choose which (trooper) unit your oppnent must activate first, possibly leaving a unit that your opponent wanted to activate first quite vulnerable while it waits to be activated after 1 or 2 of your activations.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, Lemmiwinks86 said:

The command card is played before the units activate, but that unit doesn't gain the 4 suppression tokens until its activation ends (if it didn't attack), which is past its rally step.

That's a very good point :)

Out of interest, is there anything in the rules preventing you from attacking your own units? I had a quick read through the RRG but didn't see anything explicitly disallowing it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, DwainDibbly said:

That's a very good point :)

Out of interest, is there anything in the rules preventing you from attacking your own units? I had a quick read through the RRG but didn't see anything explicitly disallowing it?

Yeah the declare defenders step says to pick an enemy unit 😉

6 minutes ago, Lemmiwinks86 said:

On a side note, in my opinion the strongest part of "Give in to your anger" isn't the 4 suppression part but the fact that you can choose which (trooper) unit your oppnent must activate first, possibly leaving a unit that your opponent wanted to activate first quite vulnerable while it waits to be activated after 1 or 2 of your activations.

Yup, it's strongest in the middle of the game as a better-than-a-1-pip.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...