Jump to content
drazen90909

When does "Wounded Pilot" get Repaired?

Recommended Posts

Here's a (convoluted) in-game example:  Say that Poe Dameron has Primed Thrusters and BB-8 equipped, and is currently suffering from BOTH Wounded Pilot crit cards, and is currently un-stressed...

  1. When Poe reveals a blue maneuver, BB-8 lets him perform a barrel roll action.  This action triggers both Wounded Pilot damage cards, and Poe would have to roll for both; let's say he takes one stress.  Then he executes a blue maneuver and clears that one stress.
  2. Since he makes it out of his maneuver with no stress, Poe could use his action to flip one of the damage cards.  After doing so, the other Wounded Pilot would trigger, forcing a third roll for stress.
  3. Poe could now perform another (red) action, with his pilot ability.  He could flip the other Wounded Pilot card if desired, or do something else.  If he is stressed, he could still perform a boost action (thanks to Primed Thrusters), though it in addition to being red, it would ALSO trigger the remaining Wounded Pilot for a chance at ANOTHER stress.

latest?cb=20180803025737latest?cb=20180803045353latest?cb=20181024225529

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, drazen90909 said:

swz78_cardfan.png

 

If you use your Action to "Repair This Card", do you then roll for stress, since you performed an action?  or does the repair interrupt the card's instructions?

This card only checks for itself in the timing window of "After you perform an action". During your action, the card is repaired. So its no longer face up to even trigger the check to see if you performed an action, so it doesn't even get a chance to be interrupted. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
19 hours ago, emeraldbeacon said:

Here's a (convoluted) in-game example:  Say that Poe Dameron has Primed Thrusters and BB-8 equipped, and is currently suffering from BOTH Wounded Pilot crit cards, and is currently un-stressed...

  1. When Poe reveals a blue maneuver, BB-8 lets him perform a barrel roll action.  This action triggers both Wounded Pilot damage cards, and Poe would have to roll for both; let's say he takes one stress.  Then he executes a blue maneuver and clears that one stress.
  2. Since he makes it out of his maneuver with no stress, Poe could use his action to flip one of the damage cards.  After doing so, the other Wounded Pilot would trigger, forcing a third roll for stress.
  3. Poe could now perform another (red) action, with his pilot ability.  He could flip the other Wounded Pilot card if desired, or do something else.  If he is stressed, he could still perform a boost action (thanks to Primed Thrusters), though it in addition to being red, it would ALSO trigger the remaining Wounded Pilot for a chance at ANOTHER stress.

latest?cb=20180803025737latest?cb=20180803045353latest?cb=20181024225529

Hmm, follow up question...

In your example, Poe repairs the first Wounded Pilot then does the rule that you cannot perform the same action more than once in a round prevent him from flipping the second one until his next turn?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
30 minutes ago, pickirk01 said:

Hmm, follow up question...

In your example, Poe repairs the first Wounded Pilot then does the rule that you cannot perform the same action more than once in a round prevent him from flipping the second one until his next turn?

No. From page 3 of the Rules Reference:

     ◊ If a ship has multiple damage cards with the same name, each damage card’s ability is a different action.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, pickirk01 said:

Hmm, follow up question...

In your example, Poe repairs the first Wounded Pilot then does the rule that you cannot perform the same action more than once in a round prevent him from flipping the second one until his next turn?

That's an excellent question to ask, since it's not 100% intuitive!  @KiAdiMoody got it 100% right, though:  You indeed can repair both cards in one round, if you have the actions to do so.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 minutes ago, TrueMandalorian said:

But is the “action” the ability? I think not, but if both the ability and “action” are considered the ability then sure.

that's a good question. lets find out. the definition on an ability is:

"ABILITIES
Some of the text on condition, damage, ship, and upgrade cards describe abilities. These abilities consist of a timing and an effect.
• Unless a card ability uses the word “may” or has the “Action:” or “Attack:” headers, the ability is mandatory and must be resolved.
• A ship cannot spend or remove tokens that belong to another ship unless an effect explicitly states otherwise. Similarly, a ship cannot spend, modify, or remove die results that belong to another ship unless an effect explicitly states otherwise.
• If multiple abilities resolve at the same time, the players use the ability queue to determine the order in which the abilities resolve.
• A destroyed ship’s abilities remain active until that ship is removed unless the ability specifies a different timing for the effect to end, such as “until the end of the Engagement Phase.” Such effects remain active until the end of the specified time."

 

in short, yes. actions on damage cards are abilities.

Edited by meffo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...