Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Vader is Love

Force Power Endure: Death / Mastery

Recommended Posts

Hello fellas! 

Two questions. 

1 A character receives a critical injury, that would normally kill her, but she activates Endure and commits one force die to temporarily ignore the effect (until end of encounter or until stop committing force die). It is stated, that a critical injury, that would result in death cannot be treated or healed. So what does a character do after the encounter? Die anyway? Commit the force die forever? (Which would be up to the GM and is generally not recommended)

 

2 For a non-lethal critical injury, a character can use the endure mastery, which allows the character to try not to receive the critical injury at all. It is a force power check, so it is an action right? Not an incidental like the basic force power? So in a middle of a fight, a character would have to decide if it is worth to use her action for the endure mastery, instead of attacking or something else. 

Thanks. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
37 minutes ago, Vader is Love said:

Hello fellas! 

Two questions. 

1 A character receives a critical injury, that would normally kill her, but she activates Endure and commits one force die to temporarily ignore the effect (until end of encounter or until stop committing force die). It is stated, that a critical injury, that would result in death cannot be treated or healed. So what does a character do after the encounter? Die anyway? Commit the force die forever? (Which would be up to the GM and is generally not recommended)

 

The character is toast when the power is uncommitted unles the GM allows for indefinite commitment of the Force die. He's still dead the next time he suffers a lethal crit because you can't stack two usages of the same Force power.

And I believe there's a few of things that can forcibly uncommit Force dice.

Quote

2 For a non-lethal critical injury, a character can use the endure mastery, which allows the character to try not to receive the critical injury at all. It is a force power check, so it is an action right? Not an incidental like the basic force power? So in a middle of a fight, a character would have to decide if it is worth to use her action for the endure mastery, instead of attacking or something else. 

It's still an out-of-turn incidental.

The Mastery upgrade reads "When the character activates Endure, they may make an Endure power check instead of committing [a Force die] as normal."

And the power is activated as an out-of-turn incidental.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Vader is Love said:

Hello fellas! 

Two questions. 

1 A character receives a critical injury, that would normally kill her, but she activates Endure and commits one force die to temporarily ignore the effect (until end of encounter or until stop committing force die). It is stated, that a critical injury, that would result in death cannot be treated or healed. So what does a character do after the encounter? Die anyway? Commit the force die forever? (Which would be up to the GM and is generally not recommended)

 

2 For a non-lethal critical injury, a character can use the endure mastery, which allows the character to try not to receive the critical injury at all. It is a force power check, so it is an action right? Not an incidental like the basic force power? So in a middle of a fight, a character would have to decide if it is worth to use her action for the endure mastery, instead of attacking or something else. 

Thanks. 

1) 2 ways of doing it really.
A) The character is a dead person walking. Basically the moment they uncommit from Endure their life ends. I haven't read the power itself in great detail, but it largely depends on how GM handles committing in general. Can the character remain committed all the time? During sleep? Personally being committed all the time isn't a huge issue, Sion basically was dead all the time and only finally relented when he was defeated enough to break his will (commit all his force dice.) but if not, even T's/force talents can be used to break their concentration on their committed effects. If you lean into this interpretation, then this really is the time for the character to complete a last will as bit by bit, they feel their grasp on life slowly fade and makes for a compelling conclusion to a character arc; the character has one thing that they must do before they pass on.

B) The character can be saved. The surgery for such would likely be immensely difficult (basically trying to replace everything lost.) and depending on the nature of the critical (stabbed through the heart? That's gonna require a new heart. Cybernetic or otherwise), the character would have to maintain the power for the entire duration of the surgery. Not strictly raw, but the GM is the final arbiter in such rulings.

2) Not really read into this power as I don't own the book, but micheldebruyn's statement sounds cool.

Edited by LordBritish

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just want to add that in question 1, using the Force to, well, force your own dead carcass to remain operative strikes me as an extremely dark side thing to do, and I would give any PC doing this a bunch of conflict every session.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay, thanks for your insight.

So regarding my first question, the only way to survive would be to die near an ally with the force power heal/harm, who could then bring the Character back to life. 

But I really like the idea of a character being fatally injured and using the force to slow death and with that maybe gain enough time to fulfill her cause. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not the same issue but in one of my games, one of my NPCs received the Critical, The End is Nigh, where he would die after the last initiative slot during the next round.  On the NPCs next (final) action, he managed to roll 2 triumphs (and I was glad I rolled out in front of everyone), I flipped a Destiny Point for him and said that a shuttle flew over head and he leaped onto it and escape.

I would allow similar if it was a PC if Triumphs/Destiny Points  were in play. If the PC had Endure I would work with them to see if I could save the character but sometimes the key figure death is what spurs the rest on.

 

I had one  player who was playing a Clawdite who received a Maimed critical.  When the med bot was rolling to heal wounds, he got a Triumph so I ruled that he was able to save the leg but anytime the character got over 6 strain, his leg started hurting more giving him a setback dice on any physical actions.  This allowed him to maintain his shapeshifting ability without worrying about a cybernetic limb and gave a good character flaw.  We always know when he hits 6 strain because he starts complaining about his leg.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd like to think that Vader has Endure and used it to survive Mustafar by keeping one Force Die perpetually committed. When he was struck with the Emperor's Force Lightning, he received "The End is Nigh" death crit and couldn't do anything about it at that point so he spoke his final words to his son and let go.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/26/2019 at 3:15 PM, micheldebruyn said:

I just want to add that in question 1, using the Force to, well, force your own dead carcass to remain operative strikes me as an extremely dark side thing to do, and I would give any PC doing this a bunch of conflict every session.

eh depends a guardian being that last one standing between an oncoming imperial force and a bunch of unarmed civilians/rebels? no

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...