Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Sharatec

Activating effects more than once

Recommended Posts

This is probably a stupid question, but I really can't find the answer for some reason...

Enhance basic power reads: "When making an Athletics check, the Force user may roll an Enhance power check as part of the pool. The user may spend [FORCE POINT] to gain [SUCCESS] or [ADVANTAGE] (user’s choice) on the check."

If I generate more than one Force Point, can I spend them all to gain more successes, advantages, or combinations thereof?

Thanks in advance! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Yes.  To the best of my knowledge, all Force powers allow for the expenditure of multiple Force points to increase effects.  How much benefit you get, and what things you can increase, is usually what buying the different upgrades are for.  (Control, Magnitude, etc).

For example there is nothing stopping you from using multiple points to increase the Silhouette of an object you are trying to Move, but it's very inefficient when compared to having bought the upgrades that allow you to increase it by multiple levels per point spent. 

Also, it's unlikely for a Force user to have a dice pool large enough (2+) to have multiple points to toss around, without having spent at least some XP in the various upgrades, to make the power more efficient.   

But yeah, I can't think of any reason Enhance would limit you to `1 point at a time.    

Edited by KungFuFerret

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

With Enhance, yes.  With most other powers, no. 

Unfortunately they're not entirely consistent with it, but if you read the full description it should tell you whether a basic power or upgrade can be activated multiple times. 

With powers like Move, Misdirect, Sense, Seek, Battle Meditation, Bind, and a few others, you can NOT activate the basic power more than once. I believe that Enhance and Influence are the only two in the Core book that allow you to, although I'd have to double check. 

Long story short, ALWAYS read the full description, not just the blurb in the table.  It'll tell you all the needed info. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the replies!

The problem for me is that I don't always trust FFG to write the rules as they are intended to be used (even though I love the system). I know that many (most?) powers spell out that the basic effect can be activated only once, but unfortunately I can't really be certain that this means that powers lacking such a limitation can be activated more than once.

That said, this pretty much confirms what I suspected - and wanted :) - to be right. I owe you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For me if you spend more than one Force Points on a single use of Enhance it is not activating the power more than once. For example the player rolls 2 Force Points on his / her Enhance Power Check and use them to get 2 success, it's activating the power once. If the player wanted to use them to get 1 success and 1 advantage it would be activating the power more than once.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Each Force power has a section that tells you in the power if you can spend just one or more then one when activating the power.

Like you can activate strength upgrades for Move as much as you have force pips if you want to.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...