Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Kehl_Aecea

Blue maneuvers and stress

Recommended Posts

Myself and another player have been having a back and forth on the timing of stress removing.

Is the stress removed upon the reveal of a blue move or after the execution of a blue move? (I know the timing is basically the same, but for the purpose of other effects, this does matter).

Thanks in advance!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

RR pg 13. Maneuver ship then check difficulty. 

The ship moves first then the difficulty is checked and a stress token is added or removed depending on the color of the maneuver.

Flying through debris gives a stress AFTER the check difficulty step. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kind of in the middle.

There are two steps to Executing a Maneuver.

1. Maneuver Ship, where the ship is placed in a new location.

2. Check Difficulty, which is when the stress is removed.

Once both steps are done, you'll have "After you Execute a Maneuver" effects.

 

For something like a BB Astromech, you can't use it while stressed, since the stress isn't removed until afterwards.  If there are other specific effects you've got questions about, let us know.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Kehl_Aecea said:

Okay, that's what I thought!

Gonna need to print this out and hand it to that player next game night because They are DETERMINED to die on the hill of "stress gets removed on reveal". =_=

You could point them to page 6 of the Rule Book ( https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/6c/ed/6ced3492-42fb-43c9-b542-0528cd19cff9/swz01_rulebookweb.pdf ) where it outlines the steps to Executing a maneuver including when the stress token is removed (In the "Phase 3: Activation" section)...

"Executing a Maneuver
When a ship executes a maneuver, the player uses a
template to change the ship’s position. Then, the ship
may be affected by the maneuver’s difficulty.
To move the ship, the player follows these steps:
1. Take the template that matches the maneuver
from the supply.
2. Set the template between the ship’s front guides
so that it is flush against the base.
3. Pick up and place the ship at the opposite end of
the template, sliding the rear guides of the ship
into the template.
4. Return the template to the supply.

After moving the ship, the player
checks the difficulty (color) of the
maneuver. If the maneuver is red, the
ship gains one stress token. If the
maneuver is blue, the ship removes
one stress token."

Or to page 13 of the current Rules Reference ( https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/48/4d/484d07ae-6bdf-4e42-89af-180f728ad059/swzrulesreference_v104-compressedv2.pdf ) under Maneuver:

"MANEUVER

A maneuver is a type of move that a ship can execute. Each maneuver has three components: speed (a number 0–5), difficulty (red, white, or blue), and bearing (an arrow or other symbol). Each bearing is further defined with a direction.
A ship can execUte a maneuver by resolving the following steps in order:

1. Maneuver Ship: During this step, the ship moves using the matching template.
a. Take the template that matches the maneuver from the supply.
b. Set the template between the ship’s front guides (so that it is flush against the base).
c. Pick up and place the ship at the opposite end of the template and slide the rear guides of the ship into the template.
d. Return the template to the supply.
2. Check Difficulty: During this step, if the maneuver is red, the ship gains one stress token; if the maneuver is blue, the ship removes one stress token and one strain token."
 

Edited by Hiemfire

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/17/2019 at 11:48 AM, Kehl_Aecea said:

Okay, that's what I thought!

Gonna need to print this out and hand it to that player next game night because They are DETERMINED to die on the hill of "stress gets removed on reveal". =_=

Sounds like there will be a dead man on that hill then lol. 

There are abilities that trigger on Revealing of certain color maneuvers, but checking stress specifically is not one of them. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Here's more detail, and this pertains to Debris, Pattern Analyzer, Nien Nunb (T-70), among others...

Rules reference page 18:

"A ship receives one stress token while it executes a red maneuver or after it performs a red action. Additionally, a ship removes one stress token while it executes a blue maneuver."

According to this page, you do not need to fully execute the maneuver to either gain stress on a red maneuver, or to shed stress on a blue. 

Edited by napolyphonic

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, napolyphonic said:

Here's more detail, and this pertains to Debris, Pattern Analyzer, Nien Nunb (T-70), among others...

Rules reference page 18:

"A ship receives one stress token while it executes a red maneuver or after it performs a red action. Additionally, a ship removes one stress token while it executes a blue maneuver."

According to this page, you do not need to fully execute the maneuver to either gain stress on a red maneuver, or to shed stress on a blue. 

Yet the stress is added/removed after the maneuver is executed, partially or fully, in the Check Stress step. Not when the maneuver is revealed as @Kehl_Aecea's opponent continually insists...

That distinction is incredibly important since it affects any "After you reveal your dial, you may perform (x)" or "Before you Execute" effects like the following:

•BB-8BB AstromechAdvanced Sensors

Edited by Hiemfire

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 minutes ago, Kehl_Aecea said:

Oh yeah, she was FINE with when stress is applied, just not when it's removed.

Can't wait for Thursday for THAT argument =_=

GL, maybe print out the Rules pdfs and give her a copy of them?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...