Sign in to follow this  
Seaza

New player. Are MC80's any good??

Hi all,

I've played x-wing for a while now and I'm just getting into Armada. New campaign looks really good. The guys I will be playing against have played for a long time and are pretty good. I'd like to put together a good list so our games are at least interesting for them. I'll be running Rebels and thought the MC80's looked cool but from what I've read so far not sure if they are any good. What are your thoughts on the MC80's and what are some good ships to get me started.

Thanks heaps for your wisdom and help

Both MC80 variants are quite good. The Liberty can go toe-to-toe with an ISD with the good front arc and heavy forward shields but they need support because they can’t take as much of a beating. You definitely want Gunnery Team on your Liberty. And you really can’t go wrong with the standard MC80 variant and Ackbar. Those side arcs are PUNISHING, especially boosted with Ackbar or Enhanced Armaments. But a little tricky to fly well to get that double side-arc shot. Engine Techs are good option for some extra maneuverability. Also I like the Command Cruiser for its 4 squadron value.

But you should also consider the MC75. Bit more hull, bit less shields, and more balanced weapons layout. Also the only large Rebel ship that can take Assault Concussion Missiles or Assault Proton Torpedoes when you use the Ordnance Cruiser. A good choice to use with Raddus since you have to get in close to do real damage. I have run MC80 + MC75 lists where I spend a round or two tossing dice at long/med range with the MC80, then drop the MC75 in when we get close enough for black dice. 

The MC80 Command Cruiser (Home 1) also puts out a surprising amount of punch even without Ackbar, if you can get the double arc shot in.  Equip it with HIE and QBT and you’ll be happy.

Currently it’s the tankiest ship the Rebellion has, with the most native shields and hull.

Posted (edited)