Jump to content
Alderaan Crumbs

How many Advantage “equal” a Triumph?

Recommended Posts

It all depends.

When you look at the tables on page 104 of the Genesys Core book, you would see Triumph could be used for minor things in combat that only need one Advantage to trigger, less minor things that need 2 Advantages, or even more major things that need 3 Advantages. However, it doesn't seem to work the other way around. When you specifically need a Triumph, there is now way you could spend Advantages for that. Not 4, not 5, not 20. Only Triumph. That last example is true, again, when looking at certain Talents. Look at Counteroffer, page 75. It requires Triumph. No mention of Advantages.

Same page, the Berserk talent adds Success and Advantages. It doesn't add "Triumph equal to X Advantages".

As such, the ratio of Advantages to 1 Triumph is rather dependent on the specific table, talent, species ability, or other rule you invoke. As such, I rarely decide that ratio myself; it is there, in the books, per situation. I would say the same, with different examples and pages, for Threats and despairs.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use it very case by case. As a rule of thumb mechanical ill let my players spend 4-5 advantages to fully upgrade an adversary next check if that what they want. But ill encourage them to spend them om something creative. If i have a player roll 6-10 advantages on a roll i say go nuts and anything narrative they would suggest for a Triumph ill properly allow for that amount of advantage. But i usually do not let it power specific talents that require triumphs. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Alderaan Crumbs said:

Is there a certain number of Advantage you decide is worth the same mechanical weight as a Triumph? If so, how many? What about Threat and Despair? It’s a thought I’ve been mulling over.

There is not. There is literally no amount of advantages that can equal a triumph. And there is no amount of threat that equals a despair. That is intentional.

The adv/threat axis is purposefully divorced from triumph/despair because the latter are for the super awesome and amazing things. Advantage just doesn't do that. Also, that's what makes proficiency dice so much better than ability dice (ditto for challenge/difficulty). You literally cannot get a triumph effect on green ability dice alone, you need that proficiency die to do it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...