Sign in to follow this  
Vince79

Khazad-Dum

So I finally got back to the game after finishing the Mirkwood Cycle and getting distracted by the Journeys in Middle-Earth game (great game).  

I started the Khazad-Dum Expansion with the first scenario Into the Pit.  I found a dwarf deck online somewhere that I've been using (I wanted to be true to the theme).  I play true solo and it's a three sphere deck, which I've never tried before.  It has a lot of different cards in it, which is something I would normally avoid.  Usually I figure you should just take the best cards, and take three of them.  But I guess the variety of cards helps the three spheres run more smoothly.  In fact, it works surprisingly well. 

It took three tries to beat Into the Pit though.  I then switched to my tried and true Leadership/Spirit Aragorn/Eowyn/Theodred deck, and I've lost three in a row, and I considered that a pretty dominant deck.

It's definitely a more combat heavy scenario, Beorn and Boromir like it especially. But dwarves are very strong in general and can handle most quests. You are playing basically the three best heroes in the core set with your second line-up so they should do alright for you as well. But I find if I keep smashing against a wall and getting nowhere that it's time to switch up decks. I've lately been trying to take a trap deck into the Sagas and it's not happening, Nazgul don't care about my traps hahaha

It's hard to help as you haven't posted your deck, but basically with Dwarf decks you want lots of allies to make the best use of Dain's ability. In other words, go for a swarm strategy with other "multiplier" cards such as ally Faramir and For Gondor to boost all of your stats.

Traps are fun, but like Hobbit decks, they don't offer enough Willpower to get you far. 

8 hours ago, JonG said:

It's hard to help as you haven't posted your deck, but basically with Dwarf decks you want lots of allies to make the best use of Dain's ability.