Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Bucknife

I Broke the Transport...

Recommended Posts

great discussion! thank you, gentlepeople. (no, i didn't assume your gender) 😉

ok, i don't believe transferring a lock token constitutes acquiring a lock. it is one ship removing a lock token and one ship gaining a lock token.

this still needs clarification. up until it's clarified, both sides of the argument have valid points.

i'm still going with my interpretation of RAI and disallowing a ship having a lock on itself.

that being said, i'd be totally fine with a judge ruling it the other way. in casual games, i would ask a dice to be rolled to settle the matter and accept the outcome no questions asked.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, meffo said:

ok, i don't believe transferring a lock token constitutes acquiring a lock. it is one ship removing a lock token and one ship gaining a lock token.
 

FWIW, I don't think it does either.  I just think that the way this will be ruled is as not working, regardless.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I guess it just comes down to "I think you can't do it."  I think "can't acquire locks on yourself" is enough, and there isn't a necessity for Holdo/M9-G8 in order to uphold logical consistency (no-self is different from range restrictions).

7 hours ago, nitrobenz said:

Bad technical writing is also bad for X-wing :(

Sure.  But it's also true that it exists, so we have a choice.  We can break it more, demanding that FFG respond, knowing FFG has never been timely or thorough in their replies and rules revisions.  Or we can fix it ourselves.  I mean, I think that's kind what's already going on in pretty much all rules interpretations anyhow, so I don't have too much of a problem with being more honest about it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...