Jump to content
RolandKorg

Question on FAQ Re: Barbarians

Recommended Posts

Played for the first time last night.  Love it.  I downloaded the FAQ on the Fantasy Flight web site for the rules clarification that it offers.  But I found that the FAQ muddied the waters for me in it's section on Barbarians.  On page 1 of the FAQ under the section on Barbarians the second bullet point says (it is red, indicating this bullet point is a new entry and not in the rule book):

"If a barbarian is in a city-state's space, it does not use that city-state's combat bonus - the barbarian's combat bonus equals one (the difficulty of that space's terrain, which is grassland)."

BUT, the fifth bullet point says (it is black, indicating this is the original rule from page 15 of the rule-book):

"While a barbarian is in a city-state's space, caravans cannot move into that space (unless the player has Currency) and the city-state cannot be attacked."

The way I'm reading this, these two rules contradict each other - one says barbarians, while in a city-state, will defend at a combat bonus of one, the other says, while in a city-state, they can't be attacked at all.  Does the new entry (the red bullet point) replace the black bullet point (the original rule-book) in this instance, or am I misunderstanding something?  Not a big deal in the game I played last night because this scenario never came into play, but I would like clarification for future games.

Thanks for any help.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/31/2019 at 8:11 PM, RolandKorg said:

Played for the first time last night.  Love it.  I downloaded the FAQ on the Fantasy Flight web site for the rules clarification that it offers.  But I found that the FAQ muddied the waters for me in it's section on Barbarians.  On page 1 of the FAQ under the section on Barbarians the second bullet point says (it is red, indicating this bullet point is a new entry and not in the rule book):

"If a barbarian is in a city-state's space, it does not use that city-state's combat bonus - the barbarian's combat bonus equals one (the difficulty of that space's terrain, which is grassland)."

BUT, the fifth bullet point says (it is black, indicating this is the original rule from page 15 of the rule-book):

"While a barbarian is in a city-state's space, caravans cannot move into that space (unless the player has Currency) and the city-state cannot be attacked."

The way I'm reading this, these two rules contradict each other - one says barbarians, while in a city-state, will defend at a combat bonus of one, the other says, while in a city-state, they can't be attacked at all.  Does the new entry (the red bullet point) replace the black bullet point (the original rule-book) in this instance, or am I misunderstanding something?  Not a big deal in the game I played last night because this scenario never came into play, but I would like clarification for future games.

Thanks for any help.

The rule is that while barbarians are in a city state, then the city state can't be attacked. It doesn't say you can't attack the barbarians. They don't get a bonus from the city state and the terrain is a value of 1.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...