Jump to content
GhostofNobodyInParticular

Republic At War Rules/OC Conversation

Recommended Posts

6 hours ago, FortyInRed said:

Can you explain the logic here?

If you can partially build a unit why can you not partially upgrade your infrastructure?

Mostly to have some limitations to production. Not every planet is capable of mass industrial production, so I felt that if the production was beneath a certain level, that would indicate a lack of natural resources. I will add the exception that if a planet's CP falls beneath 10 it can still be improved, as that is just destroyed factories.

1 hour ago, LTD said:

Do we have a deadline on orders to be handed to the GA for compilation? Or are we each handing to GM and the GA only comes in when there is a problem?

48 hours from the submission of Forty's fleet, which I have just received. You send your orders to me, the GAs are now only required to fill in for absentee players (to remove some of the burden of GMing from them).

7 hours ago, FortyInRed said:
On 7/29/2019 at 9:15 AM, LTD said:

I think it would be good if a planet could spend maybe twice its normal credit value, with the shortfall coming from other (non blockaded) planets.

I like this idea.

@GhostofNobodyInParticular thoughts on adding this to our current game before it starts in earnest?

As this effectively means rushed production, it cannot be sustained long. I will implement it, with the caveat that it must be done on non-consecutive turns.

 

 

Forty brought my attention to a typo in the rules - the Republic CONS frigate for 30 points is squadron 1, not 3. It has been corrected.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The relevant rules changes:

Quote

Credits may be spent to increase a planet’s Credit production. For each 10 credits spent the credit production of the planet increases by 1 the following turn. If a planet has a starting production less than 10, it cannot be improved. If a planet's production falls below 10, however, it can be.

A planet may produce up to twice its production value in one turn, provided it did not do so on the turn before. The excess credits necessary for the extra production must come from planets which are not themselves producing anything.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
46 minutes ago, GhostofNobodyInParticular said:

A planet may produce up to twice its production value in one turn, provided it did not do so on the turn before. The excess credits necessary for the extra production must come from planets which are not themselves producing anything.

Does this apply while blockaded?

And does it stack with attributes?  Because that’s 25 Droid Forces every other turn on Muunilist, 16 Clones, a Venator or Providence in one turn from major shipyards...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 minutes ago, The Jabbawookie said:

Does this apply while blockaded?

This only applies to space forces, as it is industry, not manpower.

13 minutes ago, The Jabbawookie said:

And does it stack with attributes?  Because that’s [...] a Venator or Providence in one turn from major shipyards...

My main worry was how it would affect those planets with 50+ points. That was the main reason I proposed non-consecutive turns. so yes, you could get a venator in 1 turn, but then you would still have to wait 2 turns for the next one. . . If it appears too overpowered, I will make it either two turns cooldown, or the planet is reduced to 75% production for the next turn (exhausted workforce).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, Bertie Wooster said:

@GhostofNobodyInParticular The list of planets on page 1 is reduced.

4 hours ago, FortyInRed said:

@GhostofNobodyInParticular also, it seems like keyword descriptions got removed. Was this intentional?

No, it appears the internet ate half the post when I last edited it. Normality shall be restored shortly.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, clontroper5 said:

What was the the discount from the shipyard keyword again? 

 

Check the OP. I fixed the issue. I advise everyone to reread the rules, as I had to rephrase certain things, slightly changed the wordings on the new rules, and may have forgotten to include one of the later additions.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Things may change while you sleep..."

10 hours ago, GhostofNobodyInParticular said:

The excess credits necessary for the extra production must come from planets which are not themselves producing anything.

Question: Does this mean that the credits from the contributing planet cannot be spent twice, or that the contributing planet cannot be producing anything at all? I'm assuming the former.

For Example: Planet Factory One (30 credits) is going to double produce this turn. Planet Nice (40 credits) is going to spend its credits supporting Factory One. Planet Nice uses 16 credits producing droid armies, and the remaining 24 credits are sent to Factory One.

Is this legal?

 

@Npmartian @The Jabbawookie Questions for you both in Team Chat. Victory!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, LTD said:

"Things may change while you sleep..."

Question: Does this mean that the credits from the contributing planet cannot be spent twice, or that the contributing planet cannot be producing anything at all? I'm assuming the former.

For Example: Planet Factory One (30 credits) is going to double produce this turn. Planet Nice (40 credits) is going to spend its credits supporting Factory One. Planet Nice uses 16 credits producing droid armies, and the remaining 24 credits are sent to Factory One.

Is this legal?

 

@Npmartian @The Jabbawookie Questions for you both in Team Chat. Victory!

No. The lending planet cannot produce anything. Otherwise, there is no serious incentive to not double production where possible. As it is, this may be a temporary 'Emergency War Response' thing. I'm thinking of stopping it after turn 6, to return some significance to the rest of the planets, as opposed to making them mere mines for the major production centers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, GhostofNobodyInParticular said:

No. The lending planet cannot produce anything. Otherwise, there is no serious incentive to not double production where possible. As it is, this may be a temporary 'Emergency War Response' thing. I'm thinking of stopping it after turn 6, to return some significance to the rest of the planets, as opposed to making them mere mines for the major production centers.

What about fuel? Can the lending planet save part of its production for fuel, and the rest for lending? Or is fuel considered production?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

@LTD asked a good question. To clarify: Spynet reports are provided at the end of the turn they were requested, meaning they can be used at the earliest for next turn.

2 minutes ago, LTD said:

What about fuel? Can the lending planet save part of its production for fuel, and the rest for lending? Or is fuel considered production?

Fuel is here the purchase of Fuel, and thus while not exactly production, is included in it.

Edited by GhostofNobodyInParticular

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
26 minutes ago, GhostofNobodyInParticular said:

@LTD asked a good question. To clarify: Spynet reports are provided at the end of the turn they were requested, meaning they can be used at the earliest for next turn.

To clarify further - a spy net request in turn 1 will return the information at the end of turn 1 - so it cannot be acted on until turn 2.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, clontroper5 said:

@GhostofNobodyInParticular if I remember right the Cr20-landing craft originally had more then 1 carrier capacity. Was that an edit or did it get changed on accident? 

I don't think it was either. What changed is the consular class, which was mistakenly listed as 30 points and 3, instead of 30 points and 1.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
12 minutes ago, GhostofNobodyInParticular said:

I don't think it was either. What changed is the consular class, which was mistakenly listed as 30 points and 3, instead of 30 points and 1.

OH Yeah, your right I had the names mixed up. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...