Dave Grant

Vader, Meta (and other ramblings)

I have read a lot of posts, heard a lot of podcasts and seen a lot of videos about Legion that talk about what is / isn't competitive or "meta". I thought I might share some of my thoughts.

Most people will have no idea who I am (rightly so), so I present my credentials as to why you may wish to hear what I have to say:

I have been playing "competitive" war-games for 24 years, and generally do quite well. 

I am from the UK originally but I have travelled a lot with work (currently live in Hong Kong) and played games in many places

My work keeps me very busy, and not much of a gaming scene in Hong Kong so my only games of Legion have been in the past 5 months in the US (Adepticon) and UK (4 smaller events, including an RPQ). Total 17 games.

I have only ever taken Vader (because he's awesome), and only ever have 8 activations when playing legion and in my 17 competitive games I have won 16! The only loss was against Luke Cook (current World Champion) at Adepticon. Now many of those games could have gone either way, but I never felt I didn't have a chance when I saw my opponents force - even when they were "top tier meta lists"

So that brings me to the point of the post: Many content makers seem to have decided what is "good" when it comes to Legion... what forces you should take if you want to win. Many people read this content and so the 'myth' propagates (currently trooper spam + snipers if you want to win). Whilst I don't disagree generally with their points I have found that there are many more competitive options if you have a plan, and can execute it well.

In the events mentioned I have played 2 main variations (some minor changes between events) of Vader lists: Vader + Boba and Vader + Tank. Full approximate lists (for anyone interested) are below:

Vader / Boba (3 events in March, 9-1 record)

Vader: Force Push, Sabre Throw, Force Reflexes

Boba Fett: Hunter, Stimms, Recon Intel