Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
RedDogReb

Admiral Sloane and Avenger Interaction

Recommended Posts

 

Another noob question around squadrons (well, kind of)....

Admiral Sloane's card reads "...choose and SPEND 1 on the defenders defence tokens..." (my caps).

Avenger reads "...the defender cannot spend exhausted defence tokens."

What is the difference between spend and exhausted?

Do these cards interact?

Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

spend is the action of going from ready to exhausted & exhausted to discarded.

 

So Sloane allows you to spend an enemies exhausted token to remove it or just knocking a readied token to exhausted.

 

Do the cards interact... yes.. Sloane fighters go in and exhaust all (up to) 4 defence tokens (1 per accuracy) then Avenger goes against a ship with effectively 0 defence tokens  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When a token is Green, it is Readied.

When a token is Red, it is Exhausted.

 

When you are told to Exhaust something, that means to turn it from Readied, to Exhausted.   But that's all you can do with it.  If its already exhausted, you can't exhaust it again.  

 

When you are told to SPEND something, that means, if it is Readied, make it Exhausted.  If it was already Exhausted, that means Discard it.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The biggest difference boils down to this:

Overload pulse, as an example of something that makes the enemy exhaust all of their tokens, can't do anything more than turn them exhausted - it won't ever actually get rid of them.

 

Sloane and spend however.  Totally can.  Accuracy #1, turns it from Readied to Exhausted.  Follow it up with another attack, get another Accuracy from an Eligible Fighter, and boom...  That token can now be forcibly discarded.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 minutes ago, RedDogReb said:

Do these cards interact?

After the first question was answered so well already, i want to answer the second question.

Yes, they interact really well together. You can spend the tokens with Sloane (turning them from ready to exhaust), and when the Avenger attacks, these red tokens cannot be used. Sloane Squadrons are as well able to just spend the red tokens again, and discard them, but if you turn them only to red, you need less accuracy for it.

But check the FAQ. The Avenger Titel was changed. it need to be exhausted now. This means you can only use it on one attack now, not on both.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...