flatpackhamster

I'm weary of losing to Ackbar and I'd like some suggestions

Posted (edited)

Hello,

I'm fairly new to the game and not very good at it.  My opponent loves Ackbar and I've tried several times to beat one of his Ackbar fleets but I never seem to have any luck.  He turns up with a couple of assault frigates or Home One and an assault frigate and throws 14 red dice at me while proceeding slowly across the board to keep his giant side arcs pointing at me. 

Here's what I turned up with in the last battle (we're playing 500 points instead of 400 this time):

Name: Fleet 15
Faction: Imperial
Commander: Admiral Screed

Assault:
Defense:
Navigation:

Imperial II (120)
• Admiral Screed (26)
• Strategic Adviser (4)
• Gunnery Team (7)
• Hardend Bulkheads (5)
• Electronic Countermeasures (7)
• Heavy Ion Emplacements (9)
• XI7 Turbolasers (6)
• Relentless (3)
= 187 Points

Gladiator I (56)
• Emperor Palpatine (3)
• Engine Techs (8)
• Assault Proton Torpedoes (5)
• Demolisher (10)
= 82 Points

Gladiator I (56)
• Minister Tua (2)
• Engine Techs (8)
• Insidious (3)
• Electronic Countermeasures (7)
= 81 Points

Raider II (48)
• Admiral Titus (2)
• Disposable Capacitors (3)
• Heavy Ion Emplacements (9)
= 62 Points

Squadrons:
• Dengar (20)
• 3 x TIE Interceptor Squadron (33)
• Mauler Mithel (15)
• TIE Advanced Squadron (12)
= 80 Points

Total Points: 492

He turned up with - Ackbar, 2 Assault Frigates with Enhanced Armament, Pelta, Transports, and 10 squadrons including 3 B Wings, 3 X-Wings (including Luke) and 4 A-Wings (including Shara Bey).

We played Intel Sweep. 

On my first turn I used Admiral Titus to cut the speed of 1 of his Assault Frigates by 1, which did separate them by a decent distance for the battle.  However I lost Demolisher to a pair of B-Wings and then Insidious to a 7-die red attack where he got 2 Accuracies and 4 double damages.