SithLrd88

Armada Completionist thinking about getting into X-Wing?

Hello All!

I am a Completionist when it comes to Armada, usually just collecting one of each ship/expansion for casual games with the wife. I do collect both factions, and as you know even collecting one of everything is still pretty pricey in the end (I still want that SSD, gods willing!).

Especially with the recent article on huge ship play and rules for X-Wing, I've been wondering whether to get into it or not. I feel you can't really be a Completionist for X-WING, but rather need to buy multiples of many ships to build different squadrons and what not.

Since I've only watched/read about X-WING and don't know that much, I'm wondering if people from the Armada community dabble in both games, and whether it's worth investing into if I'm not really Keen on doing multiples of everything I buy?

Again, if I did get into X-Wing, it would just be casual play, not tournament level. Thanks!

I started playing x-wing 2.0 last October after already playing Armada and like you just play it casually with friends. It is very different game from Armada, but also a lot of fun.

For some of the top tier squads you would indeed need multiples of the same ships, but not for all top tier lists. Some have all different ships. 

But if you only want to play casual games at home then you can easily go with just 1 of each and build fun lists to play against each other.

You do need full 200pt squads to make it fun though, just the core game is really boring 

6 hours ago, SithLrd88 said:

Hello All!

I am a Completionist when it comes to Armada, usually just collecting one of each ship/expansion for casual games with the wife. I do collect both factions, and as you know even collecting one of everything is still pretty pricey in the end (I still want that SSD, gods willing!).