Mostarda2

How to improve?

I'm relatively new to this game, 1 year or so, I see that in my local community, they are almost always the same players who are at the top. Meanwhile me and several others, some already more veterans and other newbies, no matter how long they have played, it seems that very much playing does not improve. In fact, even some beginners who started at 2 months are already ahead of many others. Of course I play for fun first of all, but it starts to be disheartening not to see a spark of hope in one day competing for real and striking head-to-head with the top players.

How can I improve? (I can already move without hitting the obstacles) I think my mistakes are in the decisions during the game, like having evaded in the place of focus, or another action that would be better. Besides, I also find it very difficult to predict the opponent and move so that I can always position the ships to give good shots and escape from the enemy range. It seems that some players are already born to play and can already move around and make the right decisions.

Anyway, I wanted to know more about techniques, deploys, obstacle positioning, and how to make better moves and action decisions, is there any way to improve this?

Edited by Mostarda2

This is a great blog that should really help you, read all their articles:

https://xwingdebrief.wordpress.com/core-concepts/

If you integrate these concepts into your games, you can improve a lot. In the decision side of the game it's important to identify what your opponent did and why, where did you make a mistake, what you thought he would do (and why he didn't do that). No matter how many "how to play" articles you'll read, you have to work with your games and your experience.

Also never blame the dice. 

PS: For some reason the emphasis and emojis make your post harder to read.

IMHO, step one should be understanding how ships - especially the ones you want to pilot - fly around the board.