Kieransi

why don't you play TIE swarms?

1 minute ago, Mike J said:

You didn’t provide an option for those of us who do fly TIE swarms...

sorry! strawpoll doesn't have multiple sections so I couldn't really figure out how to have two different answers like that. 

So what is it about TIE swarms that you do like? :)

I’m just starting out and the Core set came with two TIEs. I’ve always been an Empire fan. So, I started with a TIE swarm. Once I win some games with it and “git gud”, I’ll pick another archetype to learn to fly. I’m hoping that will happen before the release of X-Wing 3.0. Fingers crossed.

It is rather satisfying to be able to keep them in formation after one or more engagements and the furball is in full swing. Also they look cool on the table in formation. Very cinematic.

The reward doesn't track with the risk. Yes, a TIE swarm is second to nothing in terms of bringing raw firepower to the table, and I'm always surprised by how often an opponent will make the mistake of jousting a swarm and find themselves down 80-95% of their list in a single round of shooting.

However:

- No list is as unforgiving of mistakes as a TIE swarm. You get out of position one time, or (God forbid) you misjudge your turn radius or fail to predict a block and now there's a traffic jam, some of your ships are out of standard alignment and you'll probably never get yourself back into formation. Once your TIEs are forced to scatter, if you haven't had the opportunity to have a devastating shooting round, the game is just over. You'll be picked apart before you can re-consolidate.

- It is physically and mentally exhausting to control such a large formation of ships in tournament play.

- There is an element of TIE swarms that feels unsporting in that new players tend to fall for the trap of jousting you, which means it can feel like your primary edge in a fight is just a means of tabling the inexperienced.