Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Scrivener Spills

Meishodo talismn TN reduction

Recommended Posts

Quick question.  In the beginning of the main book, discussing TNs, its stated that a TN can't be reduced to 0, making it a trivial action.  And in almost every place where a TN reduction is stated by a game effect, it adds in parentheses (not to be reduced below 1) or similar.  Except the page on Meishodo talismans.  There are three places a TN reduction is stated, for the maker using the talisman, for the talisman being given to another to use, and the ultimate skill of using all talismans at once. 

None of those three state , not be be reduced below one.  Is this a missed addition?  Can a talisman make a tn 1 invocation a trivial activity with no roll needed?  if not, and you WERE to make a talisman, would you count it as a bonus success perhaps?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Page 28 says otherwise (twice!):
 

Quote

MINIMUM TN (first section)

The TN of a check cannot be reduced below 1 by modifiers.

Quote

 

MINIMUM VALUES (sidebar)

When an effect reduces a value, it is assumed to reduce it to a minimum of 0 unless stated otherwise. One noteworthy exception is the target number (TN) of checks, which can only be reduced to a minimum of 1.

 

 

So basically, it's a missed addition - or more accurately, every time it says "to a minimum of 1" for a specific technique, it's redundant: you can only reduce something to TN1 unless specifically given the okay to make it TN0.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On ‎7‎/‎2‎/‎2019 at 5:10 PM, Scrivener Spills said:

That was how I read it as well.  So other than giving to another person, there's no point to make a talisman for a tn 1 invoc. 

Unless there's a reason you might credibly expect have a TN increase for that invocation. Imbalanced Terrain, for example, or if dazed or wounded.

You can only create a talisman for an invocation you know, so there's no possibility of making a talisman for an importune invocation.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Magnus, point. 

 

on a similar note, I realize I should have put my lore question in rules.    link below.  basically, do Rokugan spirits have "true names" that Meishodo practitioners can bind.  Do talismans bind specific spirits, or "concept" spirits based on the Names used?  and could you bind an ancestor spirit?  for example, doing the topaz championship / palace of the emerald champion, could I bind Doji Satsume into something?  We took his tea set that he left behind on his first visit, i kinda want to bind his ghostly *** into his own tea bowl. 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
29 minutes ago, Scrivener Spills said:

Could I bind Doji Satsume into something?  We took his tea set that he left behind on his first visit, i kinda want to bind his ghostly *** into his own tea bowl. 

 

 

DO. IT.
maybe you'll get a visit from the Shi-Tien Yen-Wang in your sleep.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
42 minutes ago, Avatar111 said:

DO. IT.
maybe you'll get a visit from the Shi-Tien Yen-Wang in your sleep.

Nice!  Hmm, and I AM a Moto that got into the Iuchi school.  I wonder if we're ever going to see a 5th edition version of the Moto curse. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...