Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
missileaway

Nodin Chavdri and the pile of actions?

Recommended Posts

Question on Nodin Chavdri and how many actions they can do. Card states:

After you coordinate or are coordinated, if you have 2 or fewer stress tokens, you may perform 1 action on your action bar as a red action, even if you are stressed.

Chavdri executes blue move. Performs focus. Next ship goes and coordinates Chavdri. Chavdri performs target lock with the red action they red coordinate an action back using C3P0 and receive calculate (1 stress). Because they coordinated they can execute another action as red action and chooses to jam a ship at range 1 (2 stress).

 

Does this violate the once per opportunity rule or are coordinate (received) and the coordinate (outgoing) two separate opportunities and it works?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Being coordinated and coordinating would be separate triggers.

Example:

Ship 1: Nodin Chavdri w/ C-3PO and Tactical Officer on board

Ship 2: 2nd Transport (Pammich or Cova)

Ship 3: T-70... doesn't matter.

1) Nodin moves, focuses.

2) The other transport moves, coordinates Nodin.  Nodin chooses 'white coordinate' as his action, targets the T-70.  The T-70 does something.

3) Nodin's coordinate finishes; "After you coordinate" and "After you are coordinated" are both now; we'll put them in the ability queue in the order: a) 3PO, b) Nodin's after you coordinate, c) Nodin's after you are coordinated.

4) 3P0 gives Nodin a calculate token (not an action)

5) Nodin's ability allows for another (red) action.  We'll choose 'calculate' to gain a calculate token and stress #1 from the action; 3P0 triggers again to give us a third calculate token

 6) Nodin's "after you are coordinated" clause now resolves, so we can now perform a lock or jam action, treating it as red and gaining stress #2.

Final tally: 1 focus, 3 calculates, 2 stress and possibly a lock.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 hours ago, lordvorkon said:

Being coordinated and coordinating would be separate triggers.

Example:

Ship 1: Nodin Chavdri w/ C-3PO and Tactical Officer on board

Ship 2: 2nd Transport (Pammich or Cova)

Ship 3: T-70... doesn't matter.

1) Nodin moves, focuses.

2) The other transport moves, coordinates Nodin.  Nodin chooses 'white coordinate' as his action, targets the T-70.  The T-70 does something.

3) Nodin's coordinate finishes; "After you coordinate" and "After you are coordinated" are both now; we'll put them in the ability queue in the order: a) 3PO, b) Nodin's after you coordinate, c) Nodin's after you are coordinated.

4) 3P0 gives Nodin a calculate token (not an action)

5) Nodin's ability allows for another (red) action.  We'll choose 'calculate' to gain a calculate token and stress #1 from the action; 3P0 triggers again to give us a third calculate token

 6) Nodin's "after you are coordinated" clause now resolves, so we can now perform a lock or jam action, treating it as red and gaining stress #2.

Final tally: 1 focus, 3 calculates, 2 stress and possibly a lock.

If we want to be super technical about it, your #3 isn't accurate.

3. Nodin's coordinate finishes. This triggers the "after you coordinate" and C-3PO. Queue C-3PO, Queue Nodin's after coordinate trigger.
4. C-3PO gives Nodin a calculate
5. Nodin's coordinate trigger allows a (red) action. Calculate action is chosen, gain a stress, gain the 3rd calculate
6. Coordinate action TO Nodin finishes here

7. Nodin's ability triggers again for "after you are coordinated"and is entered in the ability queue.

8. Nodin can choose a remaining action (as you say, jam or lock).

In the grand scheme of things, the result is the same, but its possible other ability may find the timing of When each thing triggers, important for their use.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 minutes ago, Lyianx said:

If we want to be super technical about it, your #3 isn't accurate.

I disagree.  I mean, I guess it's possible that you could argue that "After item #3 in a three-item list" is not in fact the same thing as "After the list", but I don't interpret it that way.

I read it as: You finished step three of a three-step process, so you've finished the process; therefore both triggers are simultanous.

image.png.90a154d45501cdaa4bafb04700b68b5f.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Its how i see the ability queue.

Nodin being coordinated is in the ability queue behind him coordinating, since him coordinating is added to the front of the queue. That being the case, Nodin coordinating resolves ahead of of him being coordinated, so the "After" effect of him coordinating is resolved first.
 

Quote

After: The effect resolves immediately following the timing specified.

We have to completely resolve an ability in the queue before resolving the next one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Related questions:
If you do a red coordinate to a ship that has coordinate and they coordinate you back, can you then do a white action before you get the stress from your red coordinate?

Can you do a red action and end up with 2 stress?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, DTDanix said:

Related questions:
If you do a red coordinate to a ship that has coordinate and they coordinate you back, can you then do a white action before you get the stress from your red coordinate?

Can you do a red action and end up with 2 stress?

yes. you gain a stress after a red action is performed. the coordinated coordinate is nested in the red coordinate in you example, so the coordinated coordinate resolves and lets your ship perform an action. if you perform a red action you gain a stress from that action, you then gain a stress from the red coordinate.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, meffo said:

yes. you gain a stress after a red action is performed. the coordinated coordinate is nested in the red coordinate in you example, so the coordinated coordinate resolves and lets your ship perform an action. if you perform a red action you gain a stress from that action, you then gain a stress from the red coordinate.

Actually no, you gain stress as a cost to attempt red action. Rules Reference screen below. Therefore, if you do red coordinate, you can only trigger your pilot ability, but you can't be coordinated back. If another ship attempts to coordinate stressed ship, action fails, so Nodin's pilot ability doesn't trigger.

image.png.121b94c0257671ccf921ef8329278fd8.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, meffo said:

yes. you gain a stress after a red action is performed. the coordinated coordinate is nested in the red coordinate in you example, so the coordinated coordinate resolves and lets your ship perform an action. if you perform a red action you gain a stress from that action, you then gain a stress from the red coordinate.

I believe this is incorrect. 

• Actions have three difficulties: white, red, or purple. White is the least difficult, then red, then purple.

As a cost to attempt to perform a red action, a ship must gain 1 stress token.

As a cost to attempt to perform a purple action, a ship must spend 1 force token. 

You have to get stressed as a cost to do the action, the same as you have to spend the force to do a purple action. If you did a Red coordinate you would gain the stress and do that action, if the targeted ship were then to coordinated back it would fail because you are already stressed. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Tyhar7 said:

I believe this is incorrect. 

• Actions have three difficulties: white, red, or purple. White is the least difficult, then red, then purple.

As a cost to attempt to perform a red action, a ship must gain 1 stress token.

As a cost to attempt to perform a purple action, a ship must spend 1 force token. 

You have to get stressed as a cost to do the action, the same as you have to spend the force to do a purple action. If you did a Red coordinate you would gain the stress and do that action, if the targeted ship were then to coordinated back it would fail because you are already stressed. 

 

under "Stress" on page 18 of the RR:

"• A ship receives one stress token while it executes a red maneuver or after it performs a red action. Additionally, a ship removes one stress token while it executes a blue maneuver."

stress from red actions is gained after the action.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, meffo said:

under "Stress" on page 18 of the RR:

"• A ship receives one stress token while it executes a red maneuver or after it performs a red action. Additionally, a ship removes one stress token while it executes a blue maneuver."

stress from red actions is gained after the action.

Mine was under page 3 of the RR under actions. It's a recent addition and it seems to contradict page 18.

I might be interpreting it wrong but , "As a cost to attempt to perform", reads as this must be done first. 

This could just be badly worded or page 18 was an oversight.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
54 minutes ago, Tyhar7 said:

Mine was under page 3 of the RR under actions. It's a recent addition and it seems to contradict page 18.

I might be interpreting it wrong but , "As a cost to attempt to perform", reads as this must be done first. 

This could just be badly worded or page 18 was an oversight.

 

agreed. we should still follow the rules as written to the best of our abilities, though. since the RR states that stress is gained after you perform a red action, that's how we should play it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, pepsik said:

Actually no, you gain stress as a cost to attempt red action. Rules Reference screen below. Therefore, if you do red coordinate, you can only trigger your pilot ability, but you can't be coordinated back. If another ship attempts to coordinate stressed ship, action fails, so Nodin's pilot ability doesn't trigger.

image.png.121b94c0257671ccf921ef8329278fd8.png

Capture.jpg

please also note the timing of gaining a stress when failing a red action, on page 11:

• After a red action fails, the ship gains a stress token.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, those 2 pages deny each other. One says to pay a cost of stress to even attempt, the other the stress i gained after performing action. Seems like FFG should fix it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, pepsik said:

Actually, those 2 pages deny each other. One says to pay a cost of stress to even attempt, the other the stress i gained after performing action. Seems like FFG should fix it.

would be nice with different wording, yes. there is no contradiction currently, though. paying a cost before attempting to do what you pay for might be more intuitive, but is not always a mandatory sequence of events, even in real life.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...