Jump to content
wurms

Cova Nell + R4 astromech

Recommended Posts

It's so stupid complicated. There's no reason for it.

For crying out loud, Cova and Leia already works. Why does she just have to work with R4 as well? It's too much and will be totally busted. There are two ways this could go:

1. Cova is always taken with R4 and is so good she needs a 5 pts increase, and because of that she is never not taken with R4 (it's cheap and there's no room for Leia), so the Astromech slot is no longer an option; your decision is made for you

2. R4 gets stuck with a few points increase (which is entirely unwarranted except in this mind-bogglingly wrong case) and is suddenly hardly playable on anything except Cova. And at the same time, it's not enough of a nerf so Cova is still the only transport pilot flown.

The whole thing is just stupid.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, ClassicalMoser said:

It's so stupid complicated. There's no reason for it.

For crying out loud, Cova and Leia already works. Why does she just have to work with R4 as well? It's too much and will be totally busted. There are two ways this could go:

1. Cova is always taken with R4 and is so good she needs a 5 pts increase, and because of that she is never not taken with R4 (it's cheap and there's no room for Leia), so the Astromech slot is no longer an option; your decision is made for you

2. R4 gets stuck with a few points increase (which is entirely unwarranted except in this mind-bogglingly wrong case) and is suddenly hardly playable on anything except Cova. And at the same time, it's not enough of a nerf so Cova is still the only transport pilot flown.

The whole thing is just stupid.

They could always reverse their ruling so Cova Nell and R4 don't work together.  They did that with Roark + Rebel Han Gunner when it was considered a problem and as a result they didn't have to adjust the slots or increase the points of either into oblivion.  That said, they did increase the points of both so nobody uses them anymore, but they didn't have to.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, joeshmoe554 said:

They could always reverse their ruling so Cova Nell and R4 don't work together.  They did that with Roark + Rebel Han Gunner when it was considered a problem and as a result they didn't have to adjust the slots or increase the points of either into oblivion.  That said, they did increase the points of both so nobody uses them anymore, but they didn't have to.

True... It's not like FFG hasn't issued "because we said so" rulings before (see 1st Edition Inquisitor vs Autothrusters, for example).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, joeshmoe554 said:

They could always reverse their ruling so Cova Nell and R4 don't work together.  They did that with Roark + Rebel Han Gunner when it was considered a problem and as a result they didn't have to adjust the slots or increase the points of either into oblivion.  That said, they did increase the points of both so nobody uses them anymore, but they didn't have to.

I have a suspicion that the point adjusters, slot pickers, and FAQ writers don't always talk to each other.

For example, I don't think Leebo's crew slot (aka C-3PO's chair) needed to be removed if the Han+Roark double tap was de-FAQ'd. At least Leebo got a notable discount when both of his combos (and other potential options) were nerfed out of existence.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, GreenDragoon said:

Similarly, what about Saese and r4?

Saese procs when another ship's dial is revealed, but the wording is to another maneuver of the same difficulty/speed, there is no reference to your revealed move (which has been stated what is printed on the dial basically), so my understanding will be that R4 does indeed change the for example a 1 hard to a blue, so you can do banks or the other side, as all are same difficulty and speed.

This is how the consensus for Nien/Hera seems to be, that your revealed move is what you see, but you change it to same difficulty, where Nien does make the banks blue, so you can change from a 1 blue forward, to a 2 bank, which is printed as white but Nien makes the maneuver blue. I will say this is the same interaction as for Saese.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...