American_Desi

Newbie to Twilight Imperium 3rd edition - Questions

I'm new to Twilight Imperium 3rd Edition. I bought the game years ago and finally dusted it off to play with my kids. Some questions came up during play that I was hoping to get help with from TI 3rd edition veterans. 

1) At the beginning of the game, who gets the Speaker Token before the first turn, and who gets to pick strategy cards first before the first turn? Will it be the same person who got to place the first planet, or some other method used to determine that? 

2) If you only have 3 players, do you have to use the 3-player game variant option, or will the game function just fine with 3 players using the base rules.?

3) In the 3-player variant option where each player gets to pick two strategy cards, what happens to the player who picks the #1 strategy card (initiative) - is he unable to play either Strategy card since Initiative card says he is not to take a Strategic Action? Or does he still get to take a Strategic Action to play his other card? 

4) Can leaders transfer from one ship to another in the same system without having to activate the system or control a planet in the system? 

5) Can multiple players get a victory point for attaining the same public objective?