Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Hipotenuso

When is triggered Mirumoto School Ability?

Recommended Posts

Hello!

I have simple question but it have created some debate in my group.  It says:

"Way of the Dragon (School Ability): Once per round during a duel or skirmish when you are targeted by an Attack check with a melee weapon, you may use one of your weapons  readied in a one-handed grip (or one of your hands, if it is empty) to ward or trap.

If you ward, the attacker must reroll dice containing (success) or (explosive success) up to your school rank.
If you trap, reduce the TN of your next Attack check against the attacker this scene by your school rank (to a minimum of 1).
You cannot choose this weapon for Attack actions"

 

The question is, when you are exactly "targeted", if you have to declare the ward or trap before the dice are rolled or after the dice are rolled so you can see the results and decide, or even choose to trap at the end of the check (for example). I'm not sure, I understand that the mechanic of re-rolling works after de the dice are rolled (such as adversities), and it is still a valid moment for "when you are targeted". But seems legit for the GM to force the decition to ward or trap o nothing at the step 1 (declare intention). I think that is not  unique way of understanding this.  When is the moment of "being targeted by a check", is it all the entire check steps or just step 1?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I do read ‚when targeted‘ as the instance the target is declared, myself; that is Step 2 4. the latest. 

Anyhow, from a balance perspective, allowing the rolled dice to be examined before activation is, for what it‘s worth,  overpowered. Even if interpreting the wording as ambiguous, it would still be at the GM‘s discretion. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From Core Book pages 22-24, the sequence of check is declare intention, determine details (Skill, Approach, TN etc.), Roll, modify Rolled Dice (Advantages and Disadvantages etc.), choose Kept Dice, resolve Kept Dice.

I would rule Mirumoto school ability is chosen before the roll, since the ability is triggered by character being targeted. Being targeted is part of attacker declaring their intention to hit the character.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...