Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Chtimi_NRS

Paige Tico (Gunner) : Destroyed during end of activation phase.

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

Paige Tico (Gunner) say : After you are destroyed, you may drop 1 bomb.

If Paige Tico is destroyed by her own bomb at the end of activation phase and choose to drop a last bomb.

This last bomb detonate this round? How ability queue is working?

Edited by Chtimi_NRS

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i believe that @LeadBelly is correct. first, all bombs would explode. if one of them destroys a ship carrying Paige, that ships owner can put her ability into the ability queue. all other game effects would trigger (other bombs explode). the player would then be able to drop the bomb from the ship carrying Paige. after it is placed, it would immediately detonate, since it's a game effect, it has to be resolved before any other player effects in the queue.

since it's still the end of activation, it would detonate immediately, even though it was also placed during the end of that very same activation phase.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Once you finish placing abilities into the queue off a trigger ("At the end of the Activation Phase") and start resolving them, you never go back and add more abilities that activate off the same trigger you just resolved.

The new bomb waits until the end of next round's activation phase.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 hours ago, ConomeOnTheVine said:

Once you finish placing abilities into the queue off a trigger ("At the end of the Activation Phase") and start resolving them, you never go back and add more abilities that activate off the same trigger you just resolved.

The new bomb waits until the end of next round's activation phase.

that's an interesting interpretation. do you have any support for that in the RR?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
16 hours ago, ConomeOnTheVine said:

Once you finish placing abilities into the queue off a trigger ("At the end of the Activation Phase") and start resolving them, you never go back and add more abilities that activate off the same trigger you just resolved.

The new bomb waits until the end of next round's activation phase.

This debate sound familiar.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, Lyianx said:

At least the autopilot drone has the claim of existing in reserve. The bomb is just on its upgrade card in front of you when the timing passes. AP Drone also uses the nebulous 'during the system phase' timing, which isn't very well defined, similar to 'during the end phase', which only has an unofficial community ruling.

Bomb triggers are just 'At the end of the Activation Phase'. Did you finish activating all ships? You're at the end of the phase, put all bombs on the play area into the queue to detonate. Any bombs not on the field at that moment aren't placed in queue to detonate.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Except it isnt nebulous anymore or less than "at the end of" is. You say "at the end of" is a snap moment in time. Then so is "during system phase". Each ship initiative is a snap moment in time and ones its past that, shouldnt be able to do anything else. 

In my mind, you are still in the area of "At the end of Activation", and since FFG broke Paige by allowing her to drop multiple devices in a single round, i have a feeling they would say she would be allow to drop another one and have it detonate in this case. Personally i dont think she should even be allowed to drop a 2nd, but, FFG's rulings are theirs. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Lyianx said:

Except it isnt nebulous anymore or less than "at the end of" is. You say "at the end of" is a snap moment in time. Then so is "during system phase". Each ship initiative is a snap moment in time and ones its past that, shouldnt be able to do anything else.

But it is though. 'During' isn't a defined term in the RR regarding timings, and the closest defined term would be While, which isn't a moment in time but a longer window.

TIMING

There are several terms used to indicate the specific timing of an effect:

• Before: The effect resolves immediately preceding the timing specified.

• At the start of: This timing is used with a specific phase or step. The effect triggers before anything occurs during that phase or step.

• While: This term is often used in combination with multi-stepped game effects such as an attack, an action, or a maneuver. Although less specific than the other timings, this term is used to narrow down when the ability is resolved during the round. Additional verbiage is required to identify when exactly the effect is applied.

◊ For example, in the context of an attack, if the ability rolls additional attack dice, the ability triggers during the Roll Attack Dice step. If the ability modifies defense dice, the ability triggers during the Modify Defense Dice step.

• At the end of: This timing is used with a specific phase or step of ship’s activation. This effect triggers after the normal effects of that phase or step have occurred.

• After: The effect resolves immediately following the timing specified.

The ability queue is used to resolve abilities that would resolve simultaneously

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ok, i understand your interpretation now i think. "at the end of the activation phase" is a timing where effects that trigger "at the end of the activation phase" are put into the ability queue. they are then resolved after "at the end of the activation phase".

well, i don't agree. lets look at the ability queue.
 

Capture.jpg

 

i would say Paige Ticos effect definitely falls under number three here. her effect is resolved, but it seems to me the timing is still going on. the bomb you've just put into play should trigger it's detonation, which happens "at the end of the activation phase". the detonation should be put into the ability queue immediately. there is no indication that the timing has passed or that you should move on to the start of engagement before resolving all effects in play that trigger "at the end of the activation phase". there is also no indication that you would resolve the effects that trigger "at the end of the activation phase" after "at the end of the activation phase" (which seems to be what you're arguing). the rules for the ability queue clearly state that if additional effects are triggered, they should be put into the front of the ability queue.

card for reference:

Swz19_a2_paig-tico.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...