Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Hi!

Question..the printed text on this card says:

"Draw 3 additional cards at the beginning of the resource phase.

At the end of the round, discard all cards in your hand."

Is this a forced action? Or we can trigger it only when we decide.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

From the FAQ, 1.36...

Triggered abilities are abilities on cards that have a bold trigger word such as Action or Response. These abilities are only applied when they are triggered. Passive abilities are abilities on cards that have an ongoing effect without a bold trigger word. Because passive abilities don't have a trigger they are always active and cannot be "triggered". 

This implies that the ability is not optional, as there is no way to trigger it. So each resource phase you must draw 3 additional cards, and discard your hand at the end of each round.

If it was optional it would likely be worded as "Resource Action: draw 3 additional cards in the resource phase and discard your hand at the end of the round. "

Edited by icabod
Added an example of if it were optional

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are effects which treat a text box as blank. Mostly, when a character has damage. That results in e.g. a core Gandalf which has not to be discarded or your Erestor effect which isn't anymore. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...