Steamdragon

Red Upgrades and Actions into Red Actions

First, let me apologize if this has been covered elsewhere, or if the rules have been printed off somewhere. There are over 300 pages in these forums, and the Search option didn't seem to yield any results (or, perhaps I wasn't searching for the proper thing). I'm new to the game, and to these forums, so please, go easy on me.

Secondly, if the answers are in the forums somewhere, please be kind and either let me know where they are, or tell me what the rules are. I just want to learn how to play and I'm a smidgen confused.

So, onto my questions:

Let's take the crew card "Tactical Officer". The stipulation to play this is "Red <Coordinate>". Does this mean that I need to be stressed in order to utilize this card? Same thing with the modification card, "Engine Upgrade": It requires a "Red Boost". So that means I have to be stressed while boosting in order to use this card?

For the second question, let's take a look at the Starviper-Class Attack Platform, and its actions. It's either a "Barrel Roll -> Stress Focus" / "Boost -> Stress Focus" or a the same, but "Stress Coordinate". So, the inevitable question is this:

If I do a barrel roll / boost, does that give me a Stress token and a Focus / Coordinate?

Again, I'm just confused and can't seem to find these answers anywhere, and I'd rather not go on assumptions. There aren't many (if any) groups around my area right now (that I know of), so figuring this out by asking people in my vicinity is somewhat limited, and I apologize if you are made to repeat yourself.

Thank you!

Welcome to the game!! 🙂

did you already found your answers?

- in requires the ship to already have a 'red coordinate/boost' action on its action bar - in order to equip a card which grants a white coordinate/boost. So not every ship can be equipped with tac-officer or engine-upgrade!

second part is called 'linked actions' and can be found in the rule book.