Jump to content

Recommended Posts

One of the fear cards says something like "Discard 1 prepared skill or suffer 2 facedown fear". I've been playing that if I don't have any prepared skills then I HAVE to suffer 2 facedown fear under the assumption that I have to fully resolve one of the 2 options. Is there anything in the RRG that spells this out? I think it's a safe assumption that you can't choose to discard a prepared skill unless I have at least 1 prepared skill. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, I think you have to chose an option you can fulfill. My question would be (for this example), can we suffer the two facedown fear only if we have no prepared skill to discard? Or may we chose?

I know in the LCG, with text like this, you could only do the second bad thing if the first wasn't possible. You didn't get the choice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
12 hours ago, Wandalf the Gizzard said:

Or may we chose?

I doubting too..

I had : "Discard 2 prepared skills or suffer 2 facedown damage".

So, with only 1 prepared card and 1 facedown damage must I discard the prepared card AND suffer 1 facedown damage?

(That's what I did..)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It’s definitely hard to say whether you choose one of the effects, or suffer the first and if you can’t then you suffer then next. 

However since it is damage/fear which is bad, I’d say you don’t get a choice! 

So it’ll be do the first effect and if you cannot, do the second. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, Henilin said:

I doubting too..

I had : "Discard 2 prepared skills or suffer 2 facedown damage".

So, with only 1 prepared card and 1 facedown damage must I discard the prepared card AND suffer 1 facedown damage?

(That's what I did..)

With that, if you have 1 prepared card then it’s impossible to discard 2 prepared cards, then you must suffer the 2 damage. You don’t split the effects. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Henilin said:

And if you also only have 1 damage? Cancel both effects?

The damage is in addition, so no matter what you’ll suffer an additional 2 facedown damage. Even if you are suffering damage from other sources.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, MeeKey said:

It’s definitely hard to say whether you choose one of the effects, or suffer the first and if you can’t then you suffer then next. 

However since it is damage/fear which is bad, I’d say you don’t get a choice! 

So it’ll be do the first effect and if you cannot, do the second. 

I'm 100% certain that you do not attempt to suffer the first and then suffer the second if you are unable to suffer the first. The reason being is that there is another fear card that says something like "Suffer .... if you cannot then suffer ....". I'm certain that you are meant to choose one of the effects my questions was more about whether you can "choose" to suffer one of the effects if you cannot complete it in full.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the Arkham LCG, you can choose any option as long as it causes a change to the game state (so you could choose to discard 2 prepared cards even if you only had 1 prepared, but not if you had 0 prepared cards).

I have no idea if this kind of thing is spelled out in the rules for LOTR:JIME anywhere.

I will note that the 'Greed' card uses a 'X, otherwise Y' phrasing, so I have to assume you can choose either option for the other ones.

IMG_20190515_175844.jpg

Edited by Faranim
adding image of cards

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...