Jump to content
iambenito

Use Karabast! to move 3 damage tokens to a character that has only 2 remaining points of health

Recommended Posts

I would say no. As soon as you put 2 damage on it, it would be defeated. Since moving damage is not considered as damage dealt, you're not triggering the damage dealing rules. Karabast says "move up to 3 damage", not "move 3 damage".

RRG Page 16: 

"When a character has damage on it equal to its health, it is immediately defeated."

"Any excess damage taken by a character above its health is ignored."  <--this would not apply

RRG Page 20: 

"When damage moves to another character, it ignores shields and the character is not considered to have taken damage."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

but, for example, the battlefield that moves damage would move all damage even if it exceeds the health of the character, right? I think that up to 3 is just a way to limit how much damage you move. Also you have to resolve the card before check if the character is dead, right?

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, iambenito said:

but, for example, the battlefield that moves damage would move all damage even if it exceeds the health of the character, right? I think that up to 3 is just a way to limit how much damage you move. Also you have to resolve the card before check if the character is dead, right?

 

 

I think you CAN move the damage, but one of them would be ignored. The character would be defeated but I'm pretty sure that the 'then' after moving three damage abilities trigger. 3 damage is removed from the character and only 2 is dealt to the opponent. The other damage token strays away, never to be dealt... until you take another damage, of course!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, DarkFallenAngel said:

you can only move 2 as a character cannot have more damage than its health - moving damage is not the same as dealing damage so you cannot move more damage than a character has remaining health. 

Does the rules reference actually address this scenario? I was looking through it and see the part where assigning damage is limited by remaining health + shields, but it doesn't actually address moving damage. I thought for sure something was in there to answer this scenario, but I'm not seeing it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, gokubb said:

Does the rules reference actually address this scenario? I was looking through it and see the part where assigning damage is limited by remaining health + shields, but it doesn't actually address moving damage. I thought for sure something was in there to answer this scenario, but I'm not seeing it.

The precedent is on the reminder text of Impersonate 

http://swdestinydb.com/find?q=impersonate&sort=set&view=card

In order for the damage to be moved there has to be a valid target and as characters can never have damage in excess of their health moving more damage than remaining health would be an illegal target

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Impersonate is a good example but not the way you say. There you have a clarification saying that the damage must not exceed the health but you don't have it in Karabast! or Draw Attention. I suppose that you have it in impersonate because if they don't add that restriction you could fully heal two characters just killing the third one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, DarkFallenAngel said:

The precedent is on the reminder text of Impersonate 

http://swdestinydb.com/find?q=impersonate&sort=set&view=card

In order for the damage to be moved there has to be a valid target and as characters can never have damage in excess of their health moving more damage than remaining health would be an illegal target

Ah, that's where I had seen it before. They really should add that language to the 'move' section of the RRG. Reminder text on one card is not a rule for all cards. Another thing that the FFG rules team should clarify if you ask me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree with you. Now that they are including a lot of "move or do something with tokens" a clarification is needed.

For example, in the impersonate event the include the "as you wish" sentence and that sentence is included in the distribution of damage text in the rules but there is nothing in Karabast or draw attention that could be referenced to the rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...