Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Loved the first play through of this game, but we had a few questions.

1. How come some cards have the keywords (ex. strike) say to discard the card while the more advanced ones don't? I was hoping that for the keywords that don't have a discard card, they were always turned on.

2. Can weapons be used more than once? For example if it says 1 success is 2 hits, and 2 successes is 5 hits, If you get 3 successes can you give 7 hits? 

The reason I ask these questions is that sometimes it feels a bit tough to kill some of the orcs and goblins. The movies and books had them slicing through them with ease, but the game makes them all seem more formidable. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

1. The game assumes that by that point you know the meaning of the keywords, so the explanation is omitted. You still have to discard the card to use the one keyword that you want use. Go to page 32 of Rules Reference for how to use the keywords. 

Keywords are shorthand for specific abilities that appear frequently on cards. So you are better of always using page 32 of Rules Reference. 

2. Yes you can use each line up to once. You cannot use one line more than once. For e.g., you cannot get 5+5 hits if you get 4 successes. 

This is implied with some weapon cards having the same line for a success. Why would they copy the same line if you could use one line more than once? E.g., card below. 

A5EDF303-EFB8-4139-9B28-0F097352770D.png

Edited by MeeKey

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 5/13/2019 at 10:53 AM, MeeKey said:

You cannot use one line more than once. 

...

This is implied with some weapon cards having the same line for a success. Why would they copy the same line if you could use one line more than once? E.g., card below. 

I made the same interpretation for the same reason, but is it spelled out in the rules anywhere?  I checked a few logical places and couldn't find it specifically stated.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Page 11 of Learn to Play, Attack Tests:

Each ability indicates how many successes must be spent to resolve it, and each ability can be resolved only once per attack.

This is not specified in the Rules Reference 12.1 Hero Attacks however, which is weird. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...